Allegiant: My Review

Featured image

Read from August 21 to August 23

Warning: I’m not even trying not to put spoilers because I want to say my opinion about a lot of things, so if you are reading this, you are now officially warned, and it is still time to stop! Don’t blame me if you didn’t know what happens… (And I had been spoiled, I swear you don’t want to be so stop reading now… Okay let’s start.)

Summary: Chicago is now ruled by the Factionless, but not everyone seems to agree. Tris and Tobias join the Allegiant, a rebel group who wants to reinstate the Factions, and also follow Edith Prior’s instruction and explore what’s outside the city. That’s Tris’s mission, along with Tobias, Christina, Uriah, Tori, Cara and Peter. And Caleb because Tris couldn’t bring herself to let him get executed.

But the outside world is different than what they expected, and they have to face choices once again, death and uncaring governments.

(Not much spoilers so far, but more is coming.)

My opinion: I read Divergent last year and enjoyed it a lot. I finally got into Insurgent in January and I have to admit I didn’t like it as much, but it was still good. To be honest, I thought it had too much of Tris and Tobias fighting, lying to each other, and kissing. Really. But the rest of the storyline was good, and I love Tris’s relationship with Christina, and also with Caleb though it is extremely complex. I hated Caleb a lot through Insurgent, but he reached some point of redemption in Allegiant. That was nice. And the rest of the plot and wars with the Factionless was also really cool. But let’s move on to Allegiant.

First, we have a shared POV, and though I know the necessity of it, it was a bit hard to get used to it. I was a bit surprised with Tobias’s narration, it didn’t feel as mature as I thought it would be. And yes he makes a lot of stupid decisions and is way too focused on his parents. But I got used to it.

Then, I really like the ideas and objectives of the Allegiant group, though we don’t get to see much of them once they are outside the city. And the whole going out of the city seems a bit too simple. Oh well it’s our first meeting here, but let’s get ready to leave on Friday night. And don’t forget to free Caleb first. And if it seems too simple Veronica Roth just kills one or two people. Look, it was hard! (Okay, I don’t know why I sound so harsh, I liked this book even with all its flaws… It’s just that I got mad when Tori died and the whole George-being-alive right on purpose… that’s evil… and that was somehow predictable but really, stop putting me in so much pain!)

And then they were out of the city, and I felt the dynamic was a bit slow at some point. I got a bit bored, I have to admit, and I think the whole plotting and overthrowing the government was a bit repetitive. Not to mention the whole Tris-and-Tobias-deceiving-each-other. (and Nita, dear me, that girl is so annoying. And really WHY DID YOU HAVE TO KILL URIAH? THAT WAS PLAIN USELESS? Like a lot of other deaths in this series by the way, don’t get me started…)

Though, discovering Natalie Prior’s past was a really good idea. I have always wanted to know more about Tris’s parents, and it was really interesting.

So yeah, it had its good parts, when the pace was fast. I especially loved the part when they got back to Chicago to try and stop Marcus and Evelyn from destroying the city. And then Tris decided to sacrifice herself and I was back in Jeanine’s office were Tris was fighting against herself, and of course she survived it and fulfilled her mission but she also had to die… Why?? (Look, JK Rowling didn’t kill Harry Potter, and yet the ending is amazing. Dear Veronica Roth, killing your characters is not the only way out!! Except if you want me to cry, in which case, congratulations, I cried.)

So yeah, I liked this book but some parts disappointed me. I thought giving it 3 stars would be a bit harsh, so I gave it 4, but it’s more like 3,5. I would love to see your opinion as well!

7 thoughts on “Allegiant: My Review

Leave a Reply

