The Book Thief: My Review

Featured image

It’s been a while since I last posted a review and I just finished The Book Thief a few days ago. It was absolutely amazing, and I am barely recovering from everything that happened. So I decided to share my thoughts on that one! And I know a lot of you have probably read it already, but better late than never, right?

The story:

As you may know, it’s a story that takes place in Germany, during World War Two. Liesel Meminger is the main character, and lives with her foster parents Hans and Rosa Hubermann in a small town called Molching, not far from Munich. She befriends her neighbour Rudy, and discovers herself a passion for reading, and stealing books. Told through the voice of Death herself (who loves to give spoilers) the story also involves street football, stolen apples, bombings, Hitler Youth and a Jew in the basement. Spoiler: people die.

My opinion:

It was a wonderful book, one that anyone can read. It’s extremely clever and beautifully written. And moving. It involved a lot of tears and dirty sobbing, especially when the end became closer. I recommend it for all of you who haven’t read it.

My review on Goodreads: It was amazing. Brilliant. Sad. Beautiful. Clever and well written. There’s no doubt, it’s a masterpiece. And I gave it 5 stars.

I don’t have much more to say except that it was also unpredictable, which made it even better. The characters were really appealing and it was impossible not to like them – or hate them, depending on whether they were nice or not!

This book is unique, it’s on a different level. It leads to reflection and teaches us more about history. As a French resident, World War Two is no mystery to me, but it’s important to know we were not alone in that. War destroys on a every side. Yes it’s a sad book, but do not be afraid. It’s worth it.

If I daresay, pain demands to be felt and I know I am quoting The Fault in our Stars too much in my articles but it somehow felt appropriate. It’s sad, but even if it’s a fiction, it also depicts reality. People die, and even more so in war time. Towns were bombed and destroyed. This was reality, and such things still happen in some parts of the world. It’s not something we can deny. Jews were persecuted and killed. This is our history as European, and there’s no denying it, even if it’s not an easy thing to bear, we can’t say it did not happen. Who would you have been if living in such a situation? Would you have been Max Vandenburg and not given a choice about the situation? Would you have been Viktor Chemmel and embraced the Führer? Would you have been Hans Hubermann and tried to do good deeds for everyone?

My point is, this book allows you some reflection and relativism, which is important from time to time. My mind was really blown away by this book, and I think, even if it’s just a tiny bit, this book has changed me.

4 thoughts on “The Book Thief: My Review

Leave a Reply

