Benny & Shrimp: My Review

Featured image

Benny & Shrimp (Grabben i graven brevdid) by Katarina Mazetti is my last read so I thought I would review it since I haven’t written an article in a while. I bought this book like two years ago because I absolutely love the cover and it had been waiting on my shelves ever since, and miraculously I finally picked it up. I checked the reviews on Goodreads, and there are really different points of view. Personally I had only heard good things about it, but I was a bit disappointed…

The story:

Désirée (aka Shrimp) is a librarian and a very cultivated woman in her thirties, who lost her husband. Benny is a dairy farmer who has to manage the property and 28 cows on his own ever since his parents died. What do they have in common? Nothing but the fact that the very tombs of the ones they love happen to lie side by side in the cemetry… And this is the story of how they meet. One day, a smile is exchanged, and a bond seems to appear between these two people that everything seems to separate.

My opinion:

As I said, I had only heard good reviews of that book. But now that I read it… I don’t understand. Maybe it’s just not my type of book, but I was expecting maybe something more. I read it in three days, on the train on my way to college, and I found it hard to put down, yet I didn’t like it that much.

It’s a bit different from what I usually read, and I really liked the Swedish setting, it really brought me a change. But the story… It alternates a chapter from Désirée’s and Benny’s points of view, and they usually tell the same thing from different points of view, but since it’s usually something you can expect, it’s not always necessary.

It was somehow plain, not enough. I tried to like it, I swear, but something in the back of my mind kept thinking this book was a disappointment. But don’t get mad at me if you like it, I would love to see your opinion! ♥

Rating: ★★★☆☆

One thought on “Benny & Shrimp: My Review

Leave a Reply

