Memoirs of a Geisha: My Review

Featured image

Memoirs of a Geisha, by Arthur Golden, is another one of the books I read in the past week, and I absolutely loved it.

The story:

The novel is presented like a memoir, and is the story of Chiyo, a young peasant girl, who becomes the great geisha Sayuri. Set in Japan at the beginning of the twentieth century, it ends after World War Two, and depicts both the story of a girl who was sold by her father to become a geisha, and the historical background of Japan at the time. A coming of age story, and so much more. Tea, jealousy, betrayal, revenge, virginity, dance classes, men are among the topics you can find in this brilliant story, but this brief summary doesn’t do it justice.

Spoiler: yes it is a fiction, and yes, I was tricked during almost the entire book into thinking that Sayuri had actually existed, which she appearently hasn’t.

My opinion:

It was an extremely beautiful story, and an amazing book. I highly recommend it to about anyone (though, it’s more of an adult book, so I will let you judge if this is the book for you, or if you should wait a few years before enjoying it).

I had been wanting to read this for a while, and I was absolutely not disappointed. I didn’t really know what to expect, actually, and was entirely satisfied. This book is so beautiful, and intimate, and unique.

The writing is extremely well-done, it is absolutely believable, and shows how much research the author did. And it feels so natural too. Everything feels so real, the characters are perfectly depicted and come to life easily.

It may get a bit draggy towards the ending, but dear me that was worth it. I was completely blown away by the ending, and I got to say, it was worth the wait.

This book is beautiful and captivating. It’s a must read. I don’t have much more to say about it… But I think it’s the kind of book I’m going to re read someday. And I would love to talk about it, so if you want you can leave your opinion about it in the comments!!

My rating: ★★★★☆

3 thoughts on “Memoirs of a Geisha: My Review

Leave a Reply

