I Read Banned Books

So you have probably heard of it from the bookish community, this week was banned books week. I was a lot busy and didn’t quite get what it was about, but I finally checked it out and discovered I owned and have read a lot of banned books. I never thought there could be so many banned books. I know it includes books that were banned ONCE and IN A CERTAIN PLACE but still. Sometimes the reason just doesn’t make sense… But that was definitely interesting!

I based myself on this list:

http://bannedbooks-a-z.blogspot.fr/

(The list is not exhaustive but nevertheless quite big and full of surprises!)

Featured image

Pictured are the banned books I both read and own.

  • Alice’s adventures in Wonderland, by Lewis Carrol
  • The Harry Potter series, by JK Rowling
  • The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbovsky (honsetly why, this book is so important!)
  • To Kill a Mockingbird, by Harper Lee
  • The Pillars of the Earth, by Ken Follett, which is one of my absolute favourite books ♥
  • Candide, by Voltaire (read for school)
  • Of Mice and Men, by John Steinbeck
  • Méditations Métaphysiques, by René Descartes (read for school, one of the only philosophical book I ever understood… I had no idea it had ever been banned)
  • Confessions, by Jean-Jacques Rousseau (another one I read for school)
  • The Color Purple, by Alice Walker
  • The Giver, by Lois Lowry
  • Brave New World, by Aldous Huxley
  • Black Beauty, by Anna Sewell (it was forbidden in some African country because it had the word BLACK in it)
  • Anne Frank’s Diary of a young girl (how dare anyone make this a banned book?)
  • Madame Bovary, by Flaubert (haven’t finished this one yet)
  • The Arabian Nights (I haven’t finished this one either but I love it so much)

I’m not saying I thoroughly enjoyed all these books, but somehow almost all of them had an impact on me when I read them. Some definitely have a philosophical or sociological or anything of the sort meaning and that’s why they are important. We need to live in a world where books are not banned! Books are important!

From my never ending TBR pile, I also noticed that this list contained both Animal Farm and 1984 by George Orwell (which is not exactly surprising), Fahrenight 451 by Ray Bradbury, I know why the caged bird sings by Maya Angelou and lots of others… I also noticed that a lot of Shakespeare’s books had been banned at some point, which I didn’t expect.

From the books I read I was also schocked to see Flowers for Algernon, because this book is so important in my opinion…

Anyway, this was a very interesting and fun research! Have you read banned books? I’d love to see your opinion and share recommendations! You should definitely check the post I linked above if you haven’t yet, you might be surprised!

4 thoughts on “I Read Banned Books

  1. I still find it crazy that all of these incredible books have been on the banned book lists at one point or another in its life. It is beyond me. I believe that a book should never be banned because it is a persons right… An authors right to express themselves in whatever way they want. Great post by the way and I love your blog so much (:

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Definitely! There really should be and it infuriates me so much that even still today books get banned. It baffles me because that is somebody’s thought and opinions and to ban it is so disrespectful in my eyes and I am so glad somebody agrees with me!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

