Fahrenheit 451: My Review

Featured image

I haven’t posted in ages, why is time flying so fast… College is keeping me so busy, but thankfully, I have a week of holidays. (And yes, I actually wanted to post this like two weeks ago, so finally, here it is).

I had been wanting to read this book for ages, so of course, when I saw it at a second hand market, I had to get it. (I got 6 books for 5€, how could I resist?) So now I have read it, and I don’t know what I was expecting actually, but certainly not this. I’m not saying it was disappointing (okay, maybe a little, but that’s only my humble opinion). It’s just that, you know, I’m kinda surprised by what I read. I didn’t expect it to be that violent. I didn’t expect it to end that way. (But maybe I should have known better!)

If you are not familiar with it, that’s the story:

Set in a futuristic world where books are banned, the story depicts the life of Montag, a fireman. But firemen are not who you think they are: houses are fireproof and now, firemen burn books. After meeting his teenage neighbour Clarisse, Montag starts questioning his job. Especially the day he has to burn a woman alive along with her house and all the books she owns.

So he decides to change, and read books. It transforms him. As expected from this kind of story, he decides to go against the authorities (but not in the way I actually expected, somehow.)

I’m sorry if you find my review spoilery by the way, but the story is also a bit predictable, so I hope you don’t mind!

At first, I really liked it, but then it turned out somehow weird, and yes, I am biaised because I expected something else, but I was a bit disappointed.

Good point: BOOKS ARE IMPORTANT. Hell yes. But maybe that wasn’t the best way to point it out. With all the violence and everything. Yes, books make us feel things. But personally they don’t make me want to destroy the world, unlike it seems to be the case for Montag. I admit that we don’t live under the same conditions, but still. His reactions were sometimes a bit extreme and not very smart.

Bad point: too much violence, when in my opinion it would have called for reflection. There is not much long discussions, except maybe with Clarisse at the beginning (things got real worse after she disappeared) and that’s something I regretted. Yet again, I admit that we don’t live under the same circumstances.

Faber was a very interesting character, though. With all the things he knew, he could have been an exceptional revolutionary, and instead he chose to live in hiding. That’s a pity, and at the same, time, that makes him an interesting character for the book.

I was not a very big fan of Montag, even if he was the “hero” of the story. Not to mention his wife, Mildred. She was unpleasant, but nevertheless really good at being a clichΓ©.

The plot in general was a bit unclear in my opinion. I kept feeling that something was missing. Maybe that is because there is obviously something missing in a society without books. But that’s not a satisfying reason for me. I shouldn’t have put my hopes that up!

Nevertheless, I don’t regret reading this, and I still gave it 3 stars. It was an interesting book, even if I believe it could have been much more. I would love to see your opinion on this!

5 thoughts on “Fahrenheit 451: My Review

  1. This book was very interesting. I enjoyed it because it made me think and look at how books influence us. It was interesting that the reason society had no books was to keep peace, but really it just kept people controlled and fearful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is so true! The fact that books were banned to keep peace is interesting, because it could also work the other way aroung: I believe that if everyone is educated, it is another way to achieve peace.

      Like

Leave a Reply

