Gone Girl: My Review

Gone Girl is a worldwide bestseller published by Gillian Flynn in 2012.

This book is crazy. This book is scary. This book is brilliant. This book is stunning. This book is amazing. (And yes, that choice of words was pure hazard.)

(And yes, that’s finally a new book review… December has been busy.)

The story in a nutshell, if you’re not familiar with it:

Amy and Nick have been married for 5 years. Their marriage had ups and down, but so far, they stayed together. That is… Until the Day Of.

On the morning of their 5th wedding anniversary, Amy disappear, leaving behind a messed up house and her usual treasure hunt for her husband. Little by little, secrets unveil. Yes, Nick is a liar. He did some things wrong. But did he really kill Amy?

The story goes back and forth between present day and the beginning of their relationships, and slowly, more and more things unfold.

My opinion:

Well, if you hadn’t guessed yet, I found this book incredibly amazing. It’s so clever and brilliant… The story is full of unexpected twists and suspense. You never know what will happen next. There was some suspense until the very last page. Truly, it’s an amazing work. And it has to be one of my favourite reads this year.

Amy is such a fascinating character. I loved the fact that, as much crazy as this book sounds, it still sounds very realistic. The characters are human, they have flaws, they want to do their best… Even if it’s not in the best way. They’re seeking some kind of unreachable happiness of perfection…

Nick is also rather likeable, I loved his narration. Yes, the guy is flawed. But he knows he screwed up, and even if he makes mistakes, he still tries to make up for it. I also loved Margo and Roney, even if we didn’t see much of them.

This book is so well made, really. I haven’t read much thrillers, but I certainly not regret trying out this one. I’m usually not really into that genre, but oh boy, this book is something else. I couldn’t put it down. (Well, I could, when I had to. But I also read about 150 pages in a row, because hell, it is that good.)

My rating:

★★★★★

It had to be five stars, of course. I didn’t know what to expect with this book, I just bought it because it was popular (and cheap) to be honest. And well, I wasn’t disappointed. It deserves all the praise, and more!

I recommend it to:

People who love thrillers, and a good book in general.

5 thoughts on “Gone Girl: My Review

  1. Contente qu’il t’ait autant plu 🙂 C’est ce que j’ai entendu pour la plupart des gens ^^ C’est drôle, on l’a lu vraiment en même temps 🙂 Mais honnêtement je l’ai trouvé super long et j’avais du mal à lire plus de 30 pages à la fois :p Mais bon, on ne peut pas tous aimer les mêmes choses 🙂 Bisous et merci pour ton commentaire !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

