Open Minds: My Review

Open Minds (Mindjack Trilogy, #1)

Goodreads Summary:

When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep.

Sixteen-year-old Kira Moore is a zero, someone who can’t read thoughts or be read by others. Zeros are outcasts who can’t be trusted, leaving her no chance with Raf, a regular mindreader and the best friend she secretly loves. When she accidentally controls Raf’s mind and nearly kills him, Kira tries to hide her frightening new ability from her family and an increasingly suspicious Raf. But lies tangle around her, and she’s dragged deep into a hidden world of mindjackers, where having to mind control everyone she loves is just the beginning of the deadly choices before her.

My opinion:

I got this book in August because it was a free Kindle, and the summary seemed interesting, but I have to warn you, I was highly disappointed. I started it just when I bought it, and finally finished it now, mostly because I don’t like leaving a book unfinished. I really didn’t care what would happen next.

It’s really a pity, because the idea seemed rather good and a bit different. But it didn’t work for me.

The writing style is not my cup of tea (translation: it’s not really good in my opinion) and I think the plot could have been much better developped. I couldn’t really relate to Kira, which is something I find important when I read a book, and I didn’t find the characters really endearing, except for Laney, maybe, and sometimes Simon.

I thought it really had potential, and there was several moments where I got more hope for the story, but I felt it kept letting me down.

My rating:

I gave it only 1 star and I kinda feel bad for giving a book such a low rating. But really, it was not the thing for me.

My apologies if you liked the book, and I would love to hear your opinion on it if you have read it!

Leave a Reply

