The Hunger Games series: Books and Movies

Rather than a Book vs. Movie article, this is going to be more of an ode to the great series that is the Hunger Games. Yes I finally saw the last movie today. (And yes, my eyes are swollen, I should probably rather by lying in the dark rather than sitting in front of my computer screen, but of boy, it was worth all the crying.)

I am a big fan of The Hunger Games, if you didn’t know that already. However, I was a bit late on the train. I first watched the first movie, and then I wanted more. I borrowed all the books from a friend when I was in senior year of high school. Catching Fire got me crying at 2am and texting her to bring me the last book the next morning at all cost. (They all got me crying in case you were wondering, but the ending of the second book was such a schock!)

And I have to admit, the movies are pretty good adaptations.

Truth is, I don’t really know what to say here, except that I love this series a lot. The Hunger Games introduced me to other dystopian YA such as the Divergent series, and made me love the genre. I am so glad I read those books, they are absolutely brilliant (and a sadly rather good reflection of our society). The Hunger Games is also what got me into tumblr. Whithout this series, I would probably not be writing a bookish blog today, and much less having a bookstagram. I owe a great deal to these great books. (And I need to re read Mockingjay in January absolutely, I have been meaning to do that for months, which you may have seen on my TBR posts…)

Anyway.

My favourite book of the series is Catching Fire, and it’s also my favourite movie because it is such an amazing adaptation. It really struck me as so.

Special mention to Mockingjay part 1 though because I saw the premiere in Paris last year, and even if the actors were not there, it was such a great experience!

And I almost forgot to mention how great the soundtrack of all the movies is. I can’t get enough of it. (And don’t say I’m biaised, it’s amazing!)

To go a bit further in my opinion. I’m not a big fan of Gale, but I have to say Liam Hemsworth portrayed him amazingly! (Which means that he annoyed me just as much in the movies as he did in the books, but I still love him as an actor.) I’am a big fan of all the actors, what more should I say?

This series is something that changes you, that makes you think. At least, that was the case for me, and I believe that was the point too. It’s a bit traumatizing, but it should not be seen as bad. Yes, there are teenagers killing one another in an arena. But there is more than this. Why? First, because they don’t have a choice. It’s a reflection on society, on how to live correctly in a society. It’s a reflection on reality shows, and human beings in general, and all of it makes it immensely precious.

Through the books we can see how Katniss evolves. It’s clearly visible in her narration, and overall her reactions and decisions. Yes, she sometimes has a bad temper. But doesn’t she deserve it after all she goes/went through? She is definitely one of my favourite characters ever. And so is Peeta by the way, I barely talked about him. He is so precious, and I share Katniss’s opinion in every way when she says she wants to protect him. Cinna is also one of my favourite characters. And I love the evolution of Haymitch, Effie and Primrose (loud crying in the background). And of course, Finnick is amazing, his death was such a schock. Like, I didn’t even realise it. I carried on reading and then I was like, wait, where is Finnick and I went back and realised he was actually dead…. WHAT HAVE YOU DONE SUZANNE COLLINS HOW DARE YOU

Nevertheless, it was an amazing trilogy with amazing characters, and it’s a bit sad that this adventure is over, but as the saying goes, some stories stay with us forever, and this one sure will. And I will most likely reread the books and rewatch the movies, and make my kids read the books if I ever have kids. I truly hope the world never ends up so messed up. (It’s enough of a mess right now… I wish people were smarter, but ranting about our messed up world is not the point of this article).

One more thing: I heard a lot of people complain about the ending (both in the books and the movies, since anyway it stayed true to the book). But personally I believe that Katniss and Peeta deserve a happy ending. And I do believe they are a perfect match. A display of peace and happiness doesn’t hurt anyone, and I’m so glad Suzanne Collins had her series end like that!

3 thoughts on “The Hunger Games series: Books and Movies

  1. Glad you finally get to see it! I agree! The soundtracks are wonderful. Ohhhh and the Finnick part is totally unexpected. I remember sitting staring at the pages, stunned, thinking ‘ohhh poor poor Annie’. I don’t know how to feel now that the series is over. I may still be having a bit of hangover…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

