Dorothy must die: My Review

Hi guys, I’m going to try and write more reviews this year, and here is one for my first read of the year: Dorothy must die by Danielle Paige.

The story:

Everybody knows the story of Dorothy, especially in Kansas. But what people don’t know is that even if there’s no place like home, Dorothy came back to Oz. Things aren’t quite as people expected. What people also don’t know is that another girl from Kansas landed in Oz through a tornado. Her name was Amy, even if all her schoolmates nickname her Salvation Amy. Amy grew up in a trailer with her mom and their pet rat Star. She has pink hair, and she doesn’t belong at school.

And one day, she is brought to Oz. A dark Oz where all she recognizes is the yellow road.

What happened to Oz? What happened to the Munchkins and the Flying Monkies? What’s going on with the magic?

People agree with one answer: Dorothy happened.

And the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked has one objective: Dorothy must die.

A tale where Good is Wicked and Wicked is Good, where we don’t know who are the Bad or the Good witches. There’s no more bad, no more good, everything needs to be redefined.

And it seems like Amy is the only one that can set it right: by killing Dorothy, the girl from Kansas who is now ruling over Oz, instead of its rightful queen Ozma, who seems to have lost her mind.

What happened to the Tin Woodman’s heart, the Lion’s courage, and the Scarecrow’s brain? Things turned out unexpected, and the fairytale characters turn out to be Amy’s enemies, while the Order of the Wicked wants her as an ally…

My opinion:

Okay, so that was a long summary, but the book deserved it because it was terribly amazing.

At first, Amy seemed like a rather plain YA character, she’s not very original, she doesn’t stand out in the pool of YA. She is poor, bullied… Almost a fairytale princess (or a kdrama heroine) waiting for her prince charming.

That is, until she is transported to Oz and becomes a badass fighter, with hopes and flaws. And I somehow found her relatable. (Even though I’m not a fighter nor a witch… As a person, her choices appealed to me.) And I really like the pink hair.

What else? I really like Nox and Pete’s characters. They’re both mysterious and interesting (and also rather attractive it seems). I can’t really guess what will happen with them, but I’m curious.

I also really like Gert and Glamora. They’re badass witches, who are powerful and know what they want. Who cares if they are Good or Wicked? They are more than this. They are brave and kind (and badass which is pretty cool).

I almost forgot to mention Jellia and Ollie who are both very sweet characters with interesting subplots. They also point out how awful Dorothy is in the best way.

Negative point:

TOO MANY DEATHS DAMN GIRL HOW DARE YOU

*loud dirty sobbing in the back of the room*

I loved it anyway.

My rating:

★★★★★

It’s a great start for 2016, and I can’t wait to get my hands on The Wicked will rise, as well as The Wizard of Oz, because I have to admit, even if I saw a play of the story, I never read the book!

Feel free to share your opinion, or even recommend similar books!

7 thoughts on “Dorothy must die: My Review

  1. This is a great review! I had mixed feelings about this book, but you might just have convinced me to try out the sequel… I’ve just started my own bookish blog, I’d love it if you could have a look and let me know what you think! (mybookishyear.wordpress.com)

    -F 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

