Secrets in Phoenix: My Review

Warning: I read it in one day, I just finished it, and I’m now basically a bundle of emotions, and even more importantly, I WANT MORE!

Yet another book I stumbled upon on Bookstagram! It was first published in 2014, and another time in October 2015 by Oftomes Publishing (a company launched by Booktuber Benjamin of Tomes) and written by Gabriella Lepore.

The story:

Sophie, Sam and Todd have spend their entire life with their grandfather, but when he dies, they are forced to leave, and live with their Great Aunt Ness, whom they have never met, and who lives in the remote town of Phoenix Holt.

Uprooted from their life and their home, they end up in a mysterious all-boy boarding school, which has a total of 60 students and 3 teachers.

They stumble across secrets and mysteries – including their aunt’s apothecary lab, and Jaxon, Sophie’s mysterious mentor.

Things are not what they seem, and magic might be involved…

My opinion:

The story is told from Sophie’s point of view, and I liked her right away. She is – at least in my opinon – the kind of endearing character you can relate to. Most characters of this book are endearing actually, especially Sam and Todd, and of course, Jaxon. I was surprised to like Ness as well. I got the wrong impression of her at first, but in the end, she was a wonderful character. And even if he is not very present in the story, I really loved Wilber’s character, and all the back story of the Ballesters.

This book kept surprising me, and this is of course one of the reasons why I loved it so much. I must say, I didn’t really know what to expect when I picked up the book, the summary is rather mysterious. I know it would be mysterious and probably magical, but I didn’t expect ALL THIS and it was absolutely wonderful.

I also wanted to add that I absolutely LOVED the writing style, and the characters’ names were also pretty awesome (yes, I felt it was necessary to mention it).

I must admit, there were a few clichés, but what can I say, I love clichés! Some parts got me like “I knew it” and “I’ve already read that somewhere” but not in a bad way, and it didn’t in any way keep me from enjoying the story.

It also reminded me of how much I love books about witches, which is a great thing!

My rating:

I hesitated between four and five stars, and in the end I gave it four stars on Goodreads, but it’s more like 4,5 

Have you read it or any other book by Gabriella Lepore? Do you have any recommendation for similar books? I would love to know, feel free to share your opinion!

3 thoughts on “Secrets in Phoenix: My Review

Leave a Reply

