The Kill Order: My Review

The Kill Order, for those who didn’t know, is a prequel to The Maze Runner series. It was written by James Dashner and published in 2013.

The story:

It takes place about 13 years before The Maze Runner, and is the story of how all this madness started.

Earth is devastated by sun flares, and people burn to death. Mark and Trina have managed to find shelter with the help os Alec and Lana, and a group of other people they just met.

A year later, they are all safe in a reconstructed village, doing their best to carry on with their new lives, when a Berg shows up and starts shooting people with darts. A mass destruction disease is released, and once again, they are on the run for survival.

My opinion:

This book was crazy. But not in a good way crazy. In a wtf is happening wait are they fighting again crazy. And a bit horrible too. But I couldn’t help wanting to know what would happen next, so it was not that much of a bookish disaster.

I must confess, I’m not really a fan of the Maze Runner series. I read the first book last January, and I found it rather good. Then I read the second one, and I found it a bit draggy, but it got better by the end. And I’m not really satisfied with the last book. But I still wanted to read the prequel because I was curious.

I didn’t really know what to expect since I knew it wouldn’t be about Thomas and Teresa (which is a pity) and as I started reading, my hopes went up. I really liked Mark, Alec and Trina at first (the other characters are less important) but as the story went by, I realised I didn’t like them that much, and the story was getting a bit repetitive and boring. That’s only my opinion, though, you may enjoy it, or have enjoyed it!

Overall, I think this story had a lot of potential, but it was a bit wasted. The ending was surprisingly good though!

My rating: ★★★☆☆

I recommended for: people who liked the original series, obviously. And if you don’t mind a book with endless fighting, then this might be the thing for you…

8 thoughts on “The Kill Order: My Review

Leave a Reply

