Interview with Tyrolin Puxty

            25772344

Tyrolin Puxty’s second book Broken Dolls was released in December (you can read my review here) and I was lucky enough to interview her through email! She was very kind, and I can’t wait to read more of her books!

Here are my questions, her answers are in italics… Enjoy!

How did you get the idea for your book Broken Dolls?
Honestly, it just smacked me in the face. I woke up one morning, stared at the corner of my room and thought: “How weird would it be if I were a doll?” I wrote the first chapter not thinking much of it and had no intention of continuing until my editor said it was something special.

When and why did you start writing?
Precocious 3 year old me toddled up to Mum and said: “I want to write books, will you please teach me to read?’ From 4 onwards, I wrote books about birds and strange creatures. The weird side of me is convinced it’s reincarnation, but the practical side tells me my family’s love of reading and writing is the influence. It just makes me so indescribably happy!

Where do you get your inspiration when you write?
It just…comes! In the shower, at work, dreams, conversations…I guess the secret is I’m always writing.

I saw on Goodreads that you have done a lot of things with your life, could you talk about that a bit?

Haha which parts? Acting in films is boring and repetitive, but theatre is exhilarating and rewarding. Starting my own performing arts school has been the most fulfilling experience; making people happy and giving them confidence! Working as a paralegal was fun, but I didn’t mesh well with the environment or the concept of helping bad people, so that was a sordid experience. Walking the red carpet for my song nomination was HUGE. I’d never felt so flattered as it’s always been a hobby, not a career choice.  Basically, I do a lot without doing much. I make a living out of doing something I love and I’m blessed. I plan to start a charity organisation in my 30’s to give back to the world that gave me so much. 

Do you listen to music when you write, and if so, what kind of music?
Absolutely! I can’t work in silence and I try to avoid songs with lyrics while writing. I enjoy Taylor Davies, Jem, Sia, Kerli, Cat Jahnke and movie soundtracks. 

Could you share some advice for aspiring writers and authors?
Your work is not your baby. It’s not perfect and it’s not special. It’s flawed, so get an editor to brutally tear it apart so you can become detached and see your work in a new light. When you accept that your work can always improve, write ten hours a week (at least). Finish your work, polish it and NEVER give up; especially if it brings you happiness. I talk about that on my YouTube channel! http://youtu.be/1a3xXHZumwE then, submit away!! 

I found her answers really inspiring and motivating, and I hope you did too! Do check her Youtube channel as well, it’s absolutely worth it!

3 thoughts on “Interview with Tyrolin Puxty

Leave a Reply

