Nocturnes: Short Review

Nocturnes: Five Stories of Music and Nightfall is a set of short stories by Kazuo Ishiguro, and it was published in 2009.

Praise:

“A lovely, clever book about the passage of time and the soaring notes that make its journey worthwhile.” – Independant on Sunday

This is basically a perfect description of the book, and I totally agree with it.

Goodreads

Short stories rating:

Crooner ★★★★☆

Come Rain or Come Shine ★★☆☆☆

Malvern Hills ★★★★☆

Nocturnes ★★★☆☆

Cellists ★★★☆☆

Book rating:

★★★☆☆

My opinion in a nutshell:

I’m not really a short stories person, actually, because they usually leave me waiting for more, and this struck again with this book, though it was really enjoyable. I picked it up because it was adevrtised as stories about music, and that was right, even if it was not exactly in the way I had expected it. If you like short stories, you will probably love it.

The stories are original, and the characters are rather passionate when it comes to music, and since I love music, it was nice to read. My favourite stories were the first one and the third one. The fourth one was rather weird and hilarious.

Why I liked it?

It’s actually my first time reading a book by Kazuo Ishiguro (though I have heard a lot about him) and oh dear, his writing style is absolutely amazing. That didn’t let me down at all, and I am looking forward to reading his novels. I think his style is what made the book so enjoyable.

Have you read it? If so, what did you think of it?

One thought on “Nocturnes: Short Review

Leave a Reply

