Nocturnes: Short Review

Nocturnes: Five Stories of Music and Nightfall is a set of short stories by Kazuo Ishiguro, and it was published in 2009.


“A lovely, clever book about the passage of time and the soaring notes that make its journey worthwhile.” – Independant on Sunday

This is basically a perfect description of the book, and I totally agree with it.


Short stories rating:

Crooner ★★★★☆

Come Rain or Come Shine ★★☆☆☆

Malvern Hills ★★★★☆

Nocturnes ★★★☆☆

Cellists ★★★☆☆

Book rating:


My opinion in a nutshell:

I’m not really a short stories person, actually, because they usually leave me waiting for more, and this struck again with this book, though it was really enjoyable. I picked it up because it was adevrtised as stories about music, and that was right, even if it was not exactly in the way I had expected it. If you like short stories, you will probably love it.

The stories are original, and the characters are rather passionate when it comes to music, and since I love music, it was nice to read. My favourite stories were the first one and the third one. The fourth one was rather weird and hilarious.

Why I liked it?

It’s actually my first time reading a book by Kazuo Ishiguro (though I have heard a lot about him) and oh dear, his writing style is absolutely amazing. That didn’t let me down at all, and I am looking forward to reading his novels. I think his style is what made the book so enjoyable.

Have you read it? If so, what did you think of it?


One thought on “Nocturnes: Short Review

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s