Reflection: Harbinger of the Phoenix – My Review

27827443

I received an ARC copy from the auther in exchange for a honest review. This book was published in November, 2015. It is the second book of the “Records of the Ohanzee” series by Rachel R. Smith.

Warning: since it’s the second book in the series, it might contain spoilers for the first book!

Genre: Fantasy, Sci-Fi, YA

My rating: ★★★★★

The Story:

Heiress Nerissa now lives with the Ohanzee, the secret faction in charge of protecting the throne of Chito, under the disguise of a man. Few people know who she truly is, but she has been introduced as the Heir of Chiyo.

Nerissa – or Caeneus, as she is called under disguise – goes on a mission with Raysel, her guardian, and a group of Ohanzee swordsmen. They end up searching throughout Renatus for mysterious books which might help save the entire kingdom from Casimer, who took the power through blood.

My opinion:

First off all, I enjoyed this book even more than the first one! The pace is just perfect, and I realised how much I love the writing style. I read it in one day, and now I will patiently wait for the sequel to be released.

I loved the fact that we got to see characters from the first book again, even if they hadn’t played a really big part so far – Charis and Shae for example. I really like how Shae and Desta’s storyline turned out too, I would have loved to see a little bit more of Shae though! And Desta really is an interesting character.

I really love how the relationship between Nerissa and Raysel evolves, they’re both really interesting characters and clearly they work well together so it’s really enjoyable to read.

Another thing I loved is how Rian and Nerissa are slowly getting closer – she obviously feels something, even if she can’t remember that she already met him, and he is uncovering the mystery around “Caeneus” little by little. I’m looking forward to seeing how the story will evolve between those too!

The rest of the side characters are also lovely, I love the twins, they really add something to the story, and Jarold and Leal add something more calm and mature to the group, which shows how balanced their party is: well done!

As to the story itself, I really like the turn it is taking. The prophecy is fascinating, it unveils itself little by little and keeps the reader alert. As much as it confused me in the first book, I think it’s good to see sometimes other points of view such as Casimer’s part, since it gives a little more information to the reader, while keeping the suspense.

I’m really immersing in this world, and once again the story stopped with a lot of suspense!

The only thing that saddens me is that Nerissa still has to hide as a boy, but it’s obviously part of the story and she manages pretty well. I’m just curious as to how things will turn out when people realise who she really is!

4 thoughts on “Reflection: Harbinger of the Phoenix – My Review

Leave a Reply

