Pedro Paramo: Short Review

Pedro Paramo is a Mexican short novel, written by Juan Rulfo and published in 1955. Rulfo was mainly a photographer, and this is his only novel, but it got him worldwide recognition.

I read it for an Instagram readalong called the International Readathon, where we were paired with someone from another country, in order to discover new books from other countries! I was not familiar with Mexican Literature at all, or even Spanish Literature for that matter, and it was such an interesting discovery. I borrowed other books from the library, and I’ll talk about them when I’ve read them as well!

My rating: ★★★★☆

Thoughts:

This book was beautiful, interesting and fascinating at the same time. It had a bit of a magical feeling which made me want to read more. It was such a great discovery for me, I’m really glad I read it!

The back cover of my copy compares it to The Sound and the Fury by Faulnker, which I studied at uni during the first semester, and it said that both books are books that will transform the reader, books one can’t forget, and I do agree with this.

This book takes you to a deserted village in the middle of nowhere, where the main character is trying to find his father, Pedro Paramo. We are transported to a land of inbetweenness, where it’s hard to know if what you’re actually reading is the truth, a dream, a ghost, the past, and I think that’s what makes the book so interesting.

Goodreads categorizes it as “magical realism” and I think that’s a perfect depiction of this novel. If the idea of magical realism grabbed your attention, then that’s the thing for you!

Plus point: It’s a rather short read, so if you haven’t read it yet, I strongly advise you to do so. It’s a cultural read as well as a classic, and I believe it is a must-read. Please tell me your opinion if you have read it, I would love to talk about it!

2 thoughts on “Pedro Paramo: Short Review

Leave a Reply

