Seoul Paris Seoul

Here is something a bit different for today, I hope you enjoy it nonetheless!

As you may or may not know, I really like Korean Dramas. I discovered them back in 2012 thanks to my best friends, and even though I haven’t matched much of them for the past few months, I still hold them dear.

Through them, I started discovering Korean culture, and I absolutely love it. It’s so interesting and fascinating. I started learning Korean back in October, and even if I struggle a lot, I learn a lot and I love it!

So when my aunt gave me free tickets for this exhibition, of course, I was delighted. I went there on Wednesday, and I’m so glad I did: it was truly interesting.

The exhibition is called Seoul Paris Seoul, and it takes place in a small museum in Paris, the Musée Cernuschi, which is a museum about Asian arts. The point of the exhibition was to share the work of Korean artists (especially painters) who had lived in Paris, and had been influenced by what they learnt there, through the 20th century.

I love paintings, so this was really enjoyable, and I saw a lot of beautiful things. It was interesting to learn about the relationships between France and Korea through arts, and to see that even when Korea wasn’t free – when it was under the Japanese domination – there were still artists willing to leave the country to come to Paris, and would try their best to do so even if it was almost impossible for them. I decided to share some of my favourites, so you may have an idea of what it was about!

Shim Kyung Ja, Karma 2012,©Shim Kyung Ja/ D.R.

Shim Kyung Ja, Karma

Afficher l'image d'origine

Bang Hai Ja, The birth of light

Afficher l'image d'origine

Hong In Sook, Trace

musée cernuschi

Han Mook, Pride

musée cernuschi

Han Mook, Golden Spiral

musée cernuschi

Park In Kyung, Orchids

What do you think about those paintings? Do you like paintings in general, and do you have any favourite artists?

2 thoughts on “Seoul Paris Seoul

Leave a Reply

