Scardust: My Review

25459559

I received an ARC copy from the publisher, Entangled Publishing, via NetGalley.

Scardust is written by Suzanne van Rooyen and will be released on February 8.

Genre: New Adult, Sci-Fi, LGBT

The story:

Dead Rock, Texas, 2037

Raleigh promised his brother that he would scatter his ashes on Mars. He is working his best to enter the MarsLife program and be sent to Mars, as one of the first pioneers there. But life doesn’t really seem to be exactly on his side. And his projects take a new turn when he finds a stranger in the desert, naked and bruised. Things go even weirder when they discover that they can share their memories, and that they seem to be hopelessly attracted to each other… (Goodreads)

My opinion:

Might be a bit spoilery, read at your own risk!

Okay first of all, I was drawn to this book because I wanted to read something a bit different from what I usually read, and that filled the part rather well. And I have to admit, the cover really caught my eye; isn’t it gorgeous?

This story is a science fiction but it also deals with modern serious issues such as self-harming, rape, prostitution, suicide and such. I think that gave an interesting twist to the sci-fi, and really added something to the book. The issues of the characters is part of what made me keep reading.

I have to admit, I liked the story, but I didn’t love it. Yes, I know, it’s not really my kind of books, so maybe that made me a bit biaised. But still, I sometimes felt that something was missing, especially in the exchange of POV which sometimes made me really confused. At first, I really liked the main characters Raleigh and Crow, but as the book went on, they made some decisions I couldn’t really understand, and the story may have gotten a bit draggy. At some point I even wondered if I would manage to finish the book…. But I still wanted to find out how they would get out of impossible situation after impossible situation!

I also wanted to add that I really liked Abigail’s character. She added rationality to the story, and had some kind of outstide point of view on Raleigh and all his backstory which was a really great idea for the story. I also really like her character development (even if she was only a secondary character). She had something that caught my attention, in the way she was both caring and fragile, and desperately wanting to be in charge of her own life… I’m so glad her story ended the way it did!

Now, back to my overall point of view. When the situation became totally hopeless, there was this awesome and clever plot twist which really blew me away. I totally didn’t expect that (it comes in the last 20% of the novel) and oh boy, that was awesome. After that, the novel took a complete new path, and I absolutely loved it. I didn’t expect that, but I really loved the ending, I was literally swooning all the time, and giggling because I loved the turn the story took.

Oh and I almost forgot to mention that I love how Raleigh evolved through the story. Sometimes he was really frustrating, but he managed to “grow up” and become more mature, and has his secrets unveiled he could have become weaker, but in facts he grew stronger. As for Crow, he was also sometimes frustrating, and I did have mixed feelings about him, but in the end, a lot of it made sense, so the end of the book made up for the rest when it comes to that.

My rating:

★★★☆☆

I recommend it for:

As mentioned above, this is a Sci-Fi and LGBT book, so if these are your kind of books, then go for it. I also recommend it if you want to read something out of your comfort zone!

Some bits of it also reminded me a little of Divergent and The Maze Runner, maybe it is just me, but you might want to give it a try if you liked those!

2 thoughts on “Scardust: My Review

Leave a Reply

