L’étranger: Short Review

L’étranger (The Stranger) is a novel published in 1942 by Nobel Price winner Albert Camus.

I never got around it when I was in high school (I studied The Plague instead), and I thought it was about time I read it.

The story in a nutshell:

The story takes place in Algeria. When the book opens, we learn that the narrator’s mother just died, and we then follow his journey to the burrial and back.

But something is wrong with our narrator, he doesn’t feel anything. He is an imperfect character who seems to be a spectator of his own life, and often makes the wrong choices.

My rating: ★★★☆☆

My opinion:

This book was disturbing, that’s a sure thing.

But just as the narrator didn’t seem to care about anything, I didn’t really care what would happen to him. The characters weren’t really endearing, but I guess that was the whole point of the story.

And I know it’s supposed to be a classic and an amazing book – this is why I read it – but I couldn’t help being a little bit disappointed, thinking that something was missing. Don’t get me wrong, I don’t regret reading it. It’s just that I expected something else, something more.

It was still interesting to read Camus, he is a fascinating writer, and his books really lead his readers to do some thinking.

I recommend it to those of you who like classics and French literature!

I’m sorry this is a really short review, but this book left me honestly really disturbed and I’m not sure what to make of it… It was definitely interesting, and also rather unusual. A part of me believes it’s a book one has to read in their life, and the other part is just completely skeptic.

I would love to talk about it with you guys if you have read it!

2 thoughts on “L’étranger: Short Review

Leave a Reply

