Teaser Tuesday #5

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme is hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm.

1. Grab your current read

2. Open to a random page

3. Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page. BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)

4. Share the title & author, too, so that other TT participants can add the book to their TBR Lists if they like your teasers!

828038

I’m currently reading a lot of books, so I was not sure which one to choose, but eventually I picked up this one! If you haven’t read it yet or heard about it, The Bell Jar is a classic and feminist novel written by Sylvia Plath, and published in 1963.

Here’s my teaser, from p.25

“The poet ate his salad with his fingers, leaf by leaf, while talking to me about the antithesis of nature and art. I couldn’t take my eyes of the pale, stubby white fingers travelling back and forth from the poet’s salad bowl to the poet’s mouth with one drippin lettuce leaf after another.”

In this passage, the main character, Esther, talks about the fact that whatever you do in public, as long as you stay confident, you will be alright because people won’t dare telling you that what you’re doing is wrong.

If you want to know more about the story, here is its Goodreads page!

12 thoughts on “Teaser Tuesday #5

  1. Definitely agree with that idea. Confidence let’s you do anything. I always feel like the Bell Jar is one of those books I really should read. Always been a bit scared of it but your teaser makes me think it’s not too bad.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read this almost a year ago for the first time and it is an amazing book (although quite sad, especially at the end). It reminded me of Liza Minnelli in The Sterile Cuckoo. The Bell Jar is beautifully written and you might find it interesting to look up all the different cover art it’s had over the years — some of them are more insightful than others. Here’s the link to my intro and teaser for today: http://wp.me/p4DMf0-1aM

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

