Glass Sword: My Review

Glass Sword is the sequel to the highly praised Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard, and was published on February 9.

To be honest, Red Queen is one of the reasons I started this blog. I really loved this book, and felt it was worth all the praise it got. Even if it has some cliché parts, it didn’t matter. So of course, I was really waiting for the sequel. It’s the first book ever I preordered, so when it arrived it the mail on Friday, needless to say I was excited.

Before you go any further, this review might contain spoilers on Red Queen, so read at your own risk!

Here’s my review of Red Queen by the way, if you want to check it out.

Genre: YA, dystopian

Summary:

Mare, the little lightning girl, and Cal, the exile prince, escaped the madness of the new Silver king Maven with the help of the Scarlet Guard. But no one is safe, and the fight has only just begun.

With the help of her brother Shade, her childhood friend Kilorn, the ex captain of the Scarlet Guard Diana Farley, and the ever mysterious and handsome exile prince Cal, Mare starts a search that will change the kingdom of Norta, formerly separated between Reds and Silvers. Because Mare, just like her brother, is a newblood with impressive. And together, they go after others like them, to get them on their side and protect them from Maven and his evil mother Elara…

My rating: ★★★★☆

My opinion:

First things first, I liked the first book better, but don’t worry, this one still lived up to my expectations (and oh boy, I need the next one right now… I proclaim Victoria Aveyard queen of cliffhangers.)

Basically, I’m just speechless after finishing this book because I don’t really know what to make of it. It feels like a lot happened in a short amount of time, and like in the previous book, it did have its lot of plot twists which I really loved. This book is really well made and action packed. Sadly, action packed also mean BLOOD packed and DEATH packed, and sometimes it was a bit too much.

I still find it hard to picture Mare. Sometimes I think she is relatable, and sometimes I don’t understand her at all, and this is a bit unsettling. I know that she is in a tough and awful situation, it’s really horrible. But sometimes I really don’t understand her decisions. However, what I like about her is that she feeels really human. She has been betrayed all over again, she is completely detroyed, and that is really palpable, and it makes sense. She can’t trust anyone – because everyone can betray anyone – but sometimes, a little bit of trust would do no harm.

I really like Mare and Cal together, but I often found them rather frustrating through the book. Maybe I just miss a little bit of innocence.

What I liked:

* Farley’s character development and how we got to know her better.

* Cal’s character development, because yes, he is my favourite character.

* The relationship between Shade and Mare.

* I also loved discovering all the newbloods (especially Ada and Nanny, I really hope we’ll get to see more of them!)

* Even if there weren’t much of them, I really liked the moments with the Barrow family.

What I disliked:

* Too much blood and too many deaths. And violence too. Though I know this is part of the story, sometimes it felt a bit unnecessary.

* Everyone can betray anyone. Yes that’s true. But sometimes it felt a bit too much, too overwhelming. Mare’s motto is not to trust anyone, but she can’t really work well on her own, so sometimes it didn’t really make sense.

* Sometimes it just felt that something was missing (i.e. sometimes the narration just skipped what seems to be an important moment) and that was a bit unsettling.

* The relationship between Mare in Kilorn (though I like both character) is sometimes really frustrating, because man, that was totally predictable, no need to make such a big deal out of it.

Nevertheless, I still really enjoyed this book. It had a bunch of nice surprises in between all the violence and the bloodshed. And among the totally predictable things, it also had several moments I totally didn’t expect, which I absolutely loved. Red Queen had a lot of those, and I’m really glad Glass Sword did too!

I think this book is an interesting reflection on difference, and this makes it important. I have to admit the characters’ reactions to it are not really the best ones, but I hope they grow better!

I totally don’t know what to expect for the next book, but there are two things I’m sure of: I can’t wait for it, and I hope we will get a lot of Cal+Mare moments, because I cherish those!

6 thoughts on “Glass Sword: My Review

Leave a Reply

