My True Love Gave To Me: My Review

My true love gave to me is a selection of 12 winter holiday short stories edited by Stephanie Perkins and published in 2014. (Goodreads)

Genre: YA, short stories, romance

Overall rating: ★★★★☆

I also rated each of the short stories individually since they were all very different. Logically, those with five stars are my favourite. They were really adorable, and got me swooning… This book was a really cute and refreshing read!

Midnights by Rainbow Rowell ★★★★★
The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link ★★★☆☆
Angels in the Snow by Matt de la Peña ★★★☆☆
Polaris is where you’ll find me by Jenny Han ★★★★☆
It’s a Yuletide miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins ★★★★★
Your Temporary Santa by David Levithan ★★★☆☆
Krampuslauf by Holly Black ★★★☆☆
What the hell have you done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman ★★★★★
Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire ★★★★★
Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White ★★★★★
Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter ★★★★☆
The Girl who woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor ★★★☆☆

I recommend it to people who like short stories, obviously, and to those of you who like cute stories and winter romance!

I’m not sure how to review this since it’s a collection of short stories, and there were some I loved and some I didn’t enjoy that much.

What you need to know:

If you want to cuddle up with a cute romance, that’s easy to read (and obviously if you like short stories) then you can give it a try, definitely!

It’s also lovely if you don’t want to read the whole thing in one sitting. You can just put it down after any short stories. Yes, I know I’m only stating the obvious.

Usually I’m not really a short stories person, since they often make me feel like the story wasn’t complete, so this book was a lovely surprise as I really enjoyed it! I know it’s only my opinion, but I would avdise you to definitely check out the stories I rated 5! And if you see authors you like, you will probably like these stories, and it’s the occasion to read more from them, in a different way. (And I am yet again stating the obvious…)

The stories are all very different, so there is definitely one for everyone! (as long as you like romance,  I guess, but come one, who doesn’t enjoy a little romance from time to time!)

Please share your opinon if you have read the book, I would love to talk about it!

2 thoughts on “My True Love Gave To Me: My Review

Leave a Reply

