The Little Prince: Exhibition

Hi guys! I didn’t post yesterday because I have decided to calm down a bit. But I will still post very often! (Also have you noticed I uploaded a header image? I’m rather proud of it…)

Anyway. Last week I went to The Little Prince exhibition in Versailles (it ends this weekend, I’m the queen of going to exhibitions right before they end… It doesn’t make them any less good!) It took some pictures and I wanted to share them with you all!

I also learned a lot about the author, Antoine de Saint Exupery. He was born at the beginning of the 20th century, and was a reckless aviator (this is where the idea of the Little Prince came). He also wrote other books, was friend with editors, and won several literary prices. He was also married to a sculptor (I had no idea of this).

During WWII, he fled to the US, leaving his wife behind. He tried to raise awareness about Nazi Germany, and encourage the US to start fighting against them.

The Little Prince was first published in the US in April 1943, it was originally planned as a Christmas story for children, but he made it more than this, and did whatever he wanted. Which ended up in the famous philosophical novel that we know. It was published in France after the war, in 1946.

Antoine de Saint Exupery died during the war, while flying between France and Algeria, and I like to think he reunited with his Little Prince…

“Once upon a time there was a little prince lived on a planet scarcely bigger than your home…”

“It was dark now. I had dropped my tools. I couldn’t care less about my hammer, my bolt, my thirst, or my death. There was on a star, on a planet, on my planet, on Earth, a Little Prince who needed comfort.”

“Please… Could you draw me a sheep?”
“What?”
“Draw me a sheep…”
I jumped on my feet as if I had been hit by lightning. I rubbed my eyes. I looked again. And I was a perfectly extraordinary little boy, looking severly at me.”

4 thoughts on “The Little Prince: Exhibition

Leave a Reply

