25 Bookish Facts About Me

Thank you so much Ines from MissCarrowl for tagging me!! You can check out her facts here! 25 is a lot of facts, but I’m going to try my best.

1- I don’t remember when or why I started reading, or what I did in my free time before reading. Basically, I learnt how to read and soon started going to the library and borrow books. It just made sense to me.

2- I started writing poems when I was in 1st grade.

3- I really enjoy classics though I don’t read much of them.

4- One of my favourite authors is Emile Zola, the french naturalist.

5- I study English and Literature and thus get to read a lot of books for college.

6- I love fairytales and retellings, and I’m going to work on this subject for my Master’s degree next year… I’m so excited!!

20150426_191451-1

7- The reason why I love Edinburgh so much is probably because of One Day. I made my whole family climb Arthur’s Seat (it was fairly easy thankfully) because of Dexter and Emma.

8- Harry Potter fact: when I was in elementary school I didn’t want to read Harry Potter because it was too mainstream and I thought I wouldn’t like it (oh boy, I was wrong). But when I was in 4th grade, my father and my younger brother started reading them (that’s when The Goblet of Fire was released). And I was like, hell, it seems like I’m actually missing out (and for some reason I was jealous that my brother was reading something I hadn’t read, okay, I have issues). So I picked up the first book while he was reading the second one, and I caught up easily because I’m such a quick reader. Eventually, when he got to the third one, I was already tired of waiting, so I borrowed/stole it from him and read it under my desk at school!

9- To continue with Harry Potter, I read The Order of the Phoenix in like four days when I was in 5th grade. Yeah, that big boy.

10- I love telling stories, as you can see with fact #8.

11- I read the Lord of the Rings for school when I was in 8th grade but I never actually saw the movies.

12- I love Greek mythology, and I have studied ancient Greek for 9 years (though I still suck at it, but it’s still more original than Latin!) And without a big surprise, the Percy Jackson series is one of my favourite series.

13- HAVE I MENTIONED THAT MY FAVOURITE BOOK IS ONE DAY BY DAVID NICHOLLS??? (yeah well, you probably know that already, but since I don’t exactly have 25 facts to tell, I thought this would do the trick)

2015-04-07 14.28.56

14- I love travelling, and I love books with travel stories, such as Eat Pray Love (by Elizabeth Gilbert) and Us (by David Nicholls) (I should read more of them!)

15- I’m a hardcore fan of The 100 as a TV show but I’ve only read the first book. Which is sad since bellarke is canon in the books. What am I waiting for…

16- I own around 300 books, but there are about 70 probably that I haven’t read.

17- My TBR list is never ending.

18- My Goodreads states that I have read 479 books, but I probably have read more.

19- I have read 18 books since the beginning of 2016.

20- One day, I will publish my own book.

21- My little brother (he’s 12) is becoming a book nerd and I’m so proud of him.

2015-04-07 14.34.21

22- I used to read a lot of mangas too, but it’s been a while since I last read one!

23- I read in both French and English, and sometimes in German too.

24- Sometimes, I even read philosophy books.

25- And yes, sometimes I buy books just because of their covers.

Well… I can’t believe I managed to find 25 bookish facts about myself without even mentioning that I just opened a nerdy/bookish jewellery shop on Etsy!

This was pretty fun to do, and if you read til the end, thanks, you’re awesome, and I’m tagging you ♥

PS: The pictures I usually share on here are usually recent, but this time they’re some of the first pictures I shared on my Bookstagram account, which I created last April!

7 thoughts on “25 Bookish Facts About Me

  1. Loved your facts! I studied English Lit and Classics at uni- so I also like Classics and the ancient Greeks 🙂 and I got to do a fairy tales course which was awesome! And I used to live in Edinburgh 🙂 Oh gosh I love the LOTR movies- if you like the books you should love them 🙂 I rarely read philosophy books though- they stress me out! It’s cool that you can read in German and French too

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

