Paris Annual Bookfair 2016

Afficher l'image d'origine

From Thursday to Sunday, it was Paris’s Annual Bookfair at the Porte de Versailles, also known as Livre Paris or the Salon du Livre.

The star city this year was Pointe-Noire (Congo) and the star country was South Korea, which is awesome because as you may know, I love South Korea.

I went to the bookfair on both Saturday and Sunday, because there were events I wanted to attend on both days, and since the student price is rather cheap, and I was extremely motivated, I couldn’t resist. It was one of the best weekends of my life!!

SATURDAY

On Saturday, I attended a conference about Dystopia. It was featuring three authors: Clélie Avit, author of Les Messagers du Vent (Messengers of the Wind) which hasn’t been translated in English. I had never heard of her, but the concept of her books seems really cool, and I may eventually read them some day. The second author was Victor Dixen, author of the series Phobos. It hasn’t been translated in English either but it might be some day because it seems to be rather successful… I read good reviews about that one too, so I might try it as well. And last but not least, the reason why I came, James Dashner, author of the best-seller series The Maze Runner!

The conference was really interesting, the three authors talked about their books, and why they thought dystopias were so popular, and why they wrote dystopias… I think I might write my own some day! James Dashner said that one of the reasons was that we all have a dark side, and I was like damn true…

(these are the three okay-ish pictures I managed to take during the signing…)

After the conference, I waited about one hour and a half for James’ signing event, and I thought I would never see him, but eventually I did! I wanted to say something clever, and even ask why he killed Teresa, but all I managed to say was Hello… And he signed my copy of The Maze Runner, I’m so happy!!

And since I waited for a long time, I also got to talk with other fans, which was pretty cool…

IMG_20160319_200020

By the way, for those who are wondering, he said that yes, Dylan got into an accident, and he will need sometime to recover, but he will be fine, and they will carry on filming as soon as he is!

SUNDAY

On Sunday, I attended another conference about fairytale retellings (which is the subject I chose for my Master’s degree, what a perfect coincidence…) and it was amazing. It was featuring two authors, the first one was Nathalie Azoulai, who is getting more and more famous in France (I haven’t read anything by her yet) and the second one was Michael Cunningham, the author of The Hours.

The conference was really interesting, and I was sitting on the first row, it was so exciting. I took some notes too, though I said I wouldn’t, I couldn’t help it, it was so interesting. Michael was really funny, and I loved everything he said, it was so interesting.

They said that we all grew up with fairytales, and this is why they were such a great influence for authors. They also said that it was a great challenge to recreate something new with something that already exists.

“I still feel like I’m a fairytale.” – Michael Cunningham

Anyway, I loved it so much. I could talk about fairytales and retellings for hours, but I’m going to stop there. You will agree, I think, that a lot of new retellings are getting really popular these days (i.e. to mention only one, The Lunar Chronicles) and this is why I find them so interesting!

20160320_12351620160320_12352420160320_12352920160320_123550

(The quality is really terrible, but I still wanted to share the pictures I took…)

And after the conference, I went to the signing event! I bought his last book A Wild Swann and other tales which is a series of fairy tale retellings, and I can’t wait to read it. And of course, I got it signed!!

IMG_20160320_155311

I’m so happy about this!! And last but not least, I even got to take a picture with him! I look so awkward, but it’s a pretty cool picture hehe ~

IMG_20160320_154713

Basically, it was an amazing weekend, and I will sure remember it for a very long time ♥

5 thoughts on “Paris Annual Bookfair 2016

Leave a Reply

