Allegiant: Book vs. Movie

IMG_20160326_174604

Okay, brace yourselves because I’m going to talk about the Allegiant Movie!

First of all, I read the book last summer, and I was not entirely satisfied with it, so some parts of the movie didn’t please me obviously because of the same reasons. Some things changed, and I did not really like them. And some other things changed which I really liked!

You can read my review of the book here. Now let’s get to business and talk about the movie!

WARNING: SPOILERS

First of all, I’m still mad because Uriah is not in the movie. Okay, maybe we saw his face once or twice. But what’s the point, really? He’s such an important character in the book. First of all, because he is Tris’s FRIEND. Okay, that’s important. And second of all because he is also Divergent and it was an important issue for him in the books, and it’s really a pity they didn’t put that in the movie. Yes, I know they can’t put everything in the movie. But they separated it into two parts so they could have made an effort (or put him in the story as an important character from the beginning…) It’s also a pity they took Cara out because it showed that (apart from Caleb) there were also other (ex) factions willing to go beyond the wall. But I don’t think her character was that important so I’m not going to complain too much about it…

Aside from that, I really liked the dynamic of the group going beyond the wall. I don’t know, they had something, and it was really enjoyable to watch. (Except that Tori died, which was awful, but I knew that would happen… *cries silently*)

Something that struck me is that they didn’t talk about the Allegiant before going beyond the wall (or did I miss something) which was weird because it was part of the reason why they left…

What else did I want to complain about? Yes, the fact that the world was not the way I pictured it at all. But that’s my problem and it’s not important.

They also suppressed more characters and changed the way they escaped the city, but it was pretty badass, so I won’t complain either.

One thing I liked for sure is the moments between Tris and Four (because they didn’t fight as much as in the book, which was terribly annoying). And you can’t deny that they have an amazing chemistry. It’s lovely to see a great YA story without a love triangle!

I also wanted to add that overall I really loved the cast! I obviously love Shailene Woodley and Theo James, but I also love Ansel Elgort, Zoe Kravitz and Miles Tyler, I think they are excellent in their jobs, and I love those characters, probably even more in the movie than in the book (even if they’re flawed, they feel so human). Naomi Watts and Octavia Spencer are also excellent (I really like Johanna, and I think I have never mentioned it so you definitely needed to know it!) Bill Skarsgard was also an excellent choice for Matthew, I think he really turned out well in the movie! Jeff Daniels also does an excellent job as David, who appears trustworthy at fist and then not such a good character (and I’m staying polite there). Finally Nadia Hilker does a perfect job as a ruthless Nita, and I liked her better than in the book.

Anyway, I don’t know what else to say. I really liked the last 20/30 minutes of the movie because it started having a lot of action. I loved the beginning too, actually, my favourite parts are definitely when they are in Chicago.

Overall, I like the changes they made, and I’m definitely curious to see how the last movie will turn out! Hope I won’t get disappointed!

Rating: 3,5 stars

I know I’m not so good at writing reviews, but I still wanted to give my opinion… Feel free to share yours in the comments!

5 thoughts on “Allegiant: Book vs. Movie

  1. I saw this in the cinema last week and I have to say I was wondering if I was watching the right film. It’s been a while since I read the book so my memory of it’s a little fuzzy but it seemed like they’d changed a LOT. Pretty much everything after the escape from Chicago seemed different. From the ending do you think they’re setting it up for another film?

    I also have to admit I’m not a fan of Shailene Woodley. She just doesn’t work as Tris for me. I do love Theo James though 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I was really surprised too when I saw what happened outside of Chicago. I know they’ve set another film for next year and called it Ascendent for some reason I don’t understand, and I’m really curious as to how it will turn out!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

