The Little Prince: Movie Talk

The Little Prince is a great part of my childhood. My mom read us the book several times with my brother when we were kids, and my grandma loved talking about it. I even did a dance show based on the story!

I used to think it was a serious book, and I didn’t like it that much. I guess I couldn’t understand it fully. As I grew up, I discovered how important it was. It’s beautiful, and yes, part of it is serious, but in a good way. It makes the reader think, and dream, and that’s what makes it beautiful.

I recently saw an exhibition about The Little Prince and its author, Antoine de Saint Exupery, who led a fascinating life between the sand and the stars, between life and death, as he was reckless. (I talk about it here)

This made me want to watch the recent adaptation by Mark Osborne (it was released in 2015) and I finally did…

“What’s essential is invisible to the eye.”

I really need to reread the book someday, I think I’ll finally be able to fully appreciate it…

But first of all, here is the trailer:

This movie is actually some kind of retelling of the story, where the main character is a little girl with an ambitious mother who moves out next to an aviator, who wrote the story. They meet, and he brings her into his magical world…

What I liked the best is probably how beautiful it esthaetically was. Really, you can see it just from the trailer.

I also like the turn they took on the story, it was rather smart and original, and this way it did feel like more than what we knew, and I liked that.

My rating: 4,5 stars

The only reason I didn’t give it 5 stars is because I didn’t like the little girl’s mother… But I had such an amazing time watching this, I really recommend it to anyone! It’s the perfect thing to watch with your family, because it’s a story that brings something to everyone…

It was also lovely to see how it was after the actual story of the little prince, and learn more about him, even if it was a complete other fiction… That’s why I love retellings so much.

Feel free to ask questions and share your opinion below!

Leave a Reply

