Shadowhunters: Opinion of a Mundane

Shadow5

Hi guys, yes I am here again to talk about TV shows, I swear I am not doing it on purpose!

Yes, I still haven’t read The Mortal Instruments (shame on me…) but seeing all the hype in the bookish community I decided to give the show a try. I did it on a whim, and watched the whole thing in three days… And I loved it.

I watched the movie a while ago, and while I know it received a lot of critics, I just wanted to mention the fact that it got me really curious. Through the book community (bookstagram, booktube and blogs) I have a general idea of what happens in the series, but I wanted to give the TV show a try. And I’m so glad I did.

To be honest, the reason why I haven’t read those books yet is because a few years ago, one of my friends read them and told me she didn’t like them. And then I missed the chance. Now I do want to read them, I just need to buy them first!

I’m just going to mention a few things that mattered to me, and then, I promise the next time I’m here to talk about it, it will be to review the books!

So first of all, I really like the concept of this story. I know the TV shows owes it to the books, but I also think they did a nice job with putting it on screen. I don’t have much to comlain about, honestly. I really liked it aethetically, the (ugly) demons were rather well made, and so was the Institute. The clothes, especially Isabelle’s are really beautiful, and everything about Magnus feels colorful, magical and amazing.

Second of all, the cast is brilliant. I can’t really compare since I haven’t made the books, but I was impressed. I think they have chemistry together (as friends… or more obviously *cough* Alec and Magnus…) And I also like how diverse it is. I know some things were changed from the books, and for example they added the character of Lydia (am I right?) but I believe it was rather well-made on their side! There were surprises and expected things, it was nice.

It’s weird because I thought I had a lot of things to say but it seems like I don’t. Alec and Isabelle are probably my favourite characters, I really like how well they are working together, and how they always try their best for what they think is right. I’m obviously looking forward to see more of  Magnus and Alec together, and I hope we will also keep getting a lot of Isabelle and Clary, I really love them together.

While I didn’t really like him in the movie, I also really liked Simon’s character and his relationship with both the Shadowhunters and the Vampires.

So many things are left unsaid, I just can’t wait to get more of it! (I know, I should just read the books and stop bothering you…)

Really, I don’t have much more to say, actually, except that I’m even more curious now, and I want more! I think that basically, when you watch this you, you love it or you hate it. And I loved it.

Now, if my wallet allows it, I need to get my hands on those books!

(Sorry, it wasn’t my best article, but I guess I really wanted to talk about it!)

One thought on “Shadowhunters: Opinion of a Mundane

Leave a Reply

