Kdrama Review: Descendants of the Sun

As you may know, I’m a huge fan of kdramas, and have been for several years now, however I was in a bit of a slump for the past few months. But that came to and end when I found out about this amazing drama called Descendants of the Sun, which just finished airing last week!

Genre: Romance, Action, Melodrama, Army, Medical, Comedy

My Rating: ★★★★★

Aired from February 24, 2016 to April 14, 2016

Length: 16 episodes of 1h

The story:

Yoo Shi Jin is a captain in a special army unit. Kang Mo Yeon is a promising doctor. They first meet unexpectedly at the hospital where she is working, and spend some time together before parting ways.

They meet again 8 months later in Urk, where he is part of the peace force, and she is sent on a medical mission. (As far as I know, Urk is a fictional place located in a war zone). Together, they fight diseases and near-death situations, as well as an earthquake.

But Yoo Shi Jin is a special force soldier, which means he can disappear on a mission any day, and Kang Mo Yeon is not sure she can deal with this…

My opinion:

Cuteness overload, this drama was perfect. It mixes cute moments, funny moments and near death situations with just the perfect amount of each.

My summary is pretty bad, I know. It really doesn’t do justice to the story. And of course, you have guessed they have fallen in love with each other. It’s a bit of an insta-love, but since their relationship has a normal pace with fights, and making up, I thnk it manages to be coherent. And I don’t care anyway, it’s a kdrama, I don’t need coherence… Kidding, but it did seem to make sense, and they have great chemistry together.

I loved the main couple, and how it was obvious through the whole thing that they were in love, but it was hard to admit it, especially on her side. The second leads were also absolutely adorable, and I loved their relationship both together, and interracting with the other characters. This drama is full of cute and interesting characters, I really think it has something more than other Korean shows. It was a really powerful story, dealing with people who have “important jobs”, meaning that they save life on a daily basis… Or almost. And at the same time, they decisions they had to make could be relatable, when it had to do with staying or quitting their jobs, making the jump to start a relationship, etc.

It was a beautiful story about doing something meaningful with your life, and also finding happiness and the right person.

What else can I add to convince you to watch this? The music is amazing too, and the story is original. I think it has a bit of something for everyone. The characters are unique, some are strong, some are cute, some are funny, some are brave, etc. It also has a lot of eye candy (I should have thought of that argument sooner!) I laughed and cried and swooned and cried. I’m so glad I watched this show.

Have you seen it? Do you plan on doing so? Please share your opinion below!

7 thoughts on “Kdrama Review: Descendants of the Sun

Leave a Reply

