Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – Or How I Failed my own Book Challenge

IMG_20160501_145927

Hi guys! You may remember from a few months ago that I had decided to be part of a book club with other bookstagrammers, where we would read one middle grade book a month through 2016, first the Harry Potter books, and then the Percy Jackson series. Considering I have just finished reading theย Chamber of Secrets you don’t need to be a genius to realise how much I failed my own book challenge. However, I still wanted to share a few thoughts on here! And just because I’m not on schedule doesn’t mean I’m not going to read the rest of the books as planned, or almost! I already reread all the Harry Potter last year, but this is my first time reading in English, so I want to actually read them all – and at the same time, I’m getting the collection of the last Bloomsbury edition because I love it so much.

My rating: Don’t mind my Goodreads ratings, the Harry Potter books will always be 5 stars in my heart! The truth is, I enjoy them more every time I reread them. The older I grow, the more I enjoy those awesome books โ™ฅ

One more point I wanted to add before I go any further (which is as a matter of facts a shameless self-promo but anyway) is that I wrote a fanfiction partly inspired from this book so if you want to check it out, here is the link! The title is ‘A Golden Pairing’ and it’s a Ron + Harry story.

So, let’s get back to business, and share MY THOUGHTS on this wonderful book (Warning: it’s the third time I read it and I’m totally biaised).

What is it that makes me like this book?

Well first of all, it’s hilarious. Most of the time. The Weasley twins are easily my favourite characters (aside from Luna Lovegood but she doesn’t appear until much later in the series) and I just love how close they are to Harry and the trio. It is pretty much invisible in the movies as far as I recall, but in the books, Harry is actually close to all the Weasleys who are at Hogwarts with him (except Percy, maybe) and it’s just so enjoyable to actually see him be happy. It’s hilarious because of all the jokes and pranks, and of how irresponsible some teachers are *caugh* Lockhart I’m looking at you.

Let’s not forget that this book has amazing characters who share amazing friendships. Never underestimate that. Harry never fails to mention that Ron and Hermione are his best friends, and he is also rather close with the other boys from his dorm. (Once again, it’s so good to see him happy). Basically, the more I read those books, the more I love everything about them.

I also love the fact even though I know everything that will happen, the story is actually well made and full of surprises. It gives hints to how it will turn out, but it’s never too obvious… It’s just really cleverly made. The writing is also really enjoyable, I just get trapped into the story and can’t put it down until I got my does of sass and awesome!

Basically, I just wanted to tell you how awesome those books were. If you haven’t read them yet, what are you waiting for? Feel free to share your opinion below if you’d like!

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets – Or How I Failed my own Book Challenge

Leave a Reply

