Sunday Recommendations: Retellings

This week’s edition of my Sunday Recommendations is featuring Retellings! I hope you enjoy! I originally wanted to post this last week, but since I was busy with my exams I didn’t get to finish it and here it is now… My exams are finally over this week so I have time to write as many articles as I want!

Also I have managed to include retellings from really different stories and I’m quite proud of it… Anyway, happy reading!

*****

The Percy Jackson series by Rick Riordan: a Greek Mythology retelling

IMG_20150831_100345

Book blurb: Percy Jackson always gets in trouble and has to change school every year. On the day the school visits a museum, his maths teacher turns into a monster and nobody remembers it. He manages to go through the rest of the year without getting expelled, but he realises his best friend Grover is talking about him with their headmaster behind his back, and there’s more to him than he knows. Which is confirmed when he is attacked by a mythical being on his way to Camp Half Blood over the summer…

This series is so amazing, fun and enjoyable! If you have never read a book by Rick Riordan, then you should definitely give him a go. And I know these are supposed to be middle grade books, but I find them still enjoyable years later!

Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige: a Wizard of Oz retelling

dorothy must die

Book blurb: Everyone knows the story of Dorothy. But she is not the only girl from Kansas who was taken to Oz. Amy was too. And Oz was definitely not like in the stories. When Amy comes, Dorothy is ruling like a dictator, and the order of the Wicked is rising to set things in order. And they recruit Amy to help them.

This is such an amazing story! It was one of my first 2016 reads, and I can’t wait to get my hands on the second book, The Wicked will rise!

Belle’s Daughter by Sophie Audoin Mamikonian: a Beauty and the Beast retelling

IMG_20151119_083225

Book blurb: In a parallel world, the Beast kind Damien was saved from a curse by his beautiful human wife. But when their first child is born a beast, they know the curse is not over. She grows up lonely, especially since her siblings don’t have the curse. But when the kingdom runs havoc, she might be the only one who can save it…

That was a great take on my favourite fairytale. I don’t think it has been translated in English yet though!

Cinder by Marissa Meyer: a Cinderella retelling

IMG_20160324_222244

Book blurb: Cinder is the most gifted mechanic in New Beijin, but she is also a cyborg, and trying to hide it. When prince Kai comes to her shop to have his personal android fixed, and the Lunar Queen Levana sets her mind on marrying him, Cinder’s life is changed for the better of for the worse…

You have probably heard about The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer, and I have to say, the first book definitely lived up to my expectations! It is such an amazing world, and I really enjoyed spotting bits and pieces from the original tale!

Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld: a Pride & Prejudice retelling

Eligible (The Austen Project #4)

Book blurb: Basically a modern retelling of Pride and Prejudice set in modern day US where the oldest Bennett sisters are in their late 30s and Darcy and Bingley are doctors moving to the local hospital.

It was an interesting take on the original story, which felt rather believable, however I found it a bit disappointing. If you’re a huge fan of P&P you might find it interesting though!

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys: a Jane Eyre retelling

Wide Sargasso Sea

Book blurb: This is the oldest retelling of my list, and it tells the story of Mr Rochester’s first wife, and how she became mad. It is a really fantastic book! I recommend it for people who have read Jane Eyre obviously, but it’s not completely necessary, and it is a really great book, so basically, my point is just go read it!

Stitching Snow by R.C. Lewis: a Snow White retelling

IMG_20160515_113532

Book blurb: Set in a fantasy universe, Essie has ran away from her home planet to the cold mining planet Thanda, where she lives with a bunch of droids and earns money from fights, but her life is transformed when Dane crash-lands near the mines, and she is taken back to all she was trying to avoid…

This was a really interesting and enjoyable take on Snow White with a strong heroine and a lot of amazing side characters!

*****

And that’s all for this week! I have many other retellings on my shelves and my TBR anyway… Feel free to share your favourites! I would love some recommendations! And if you know of a German retelling of Cinderella, please tell me, I am looking for one!

3 thoughts on “Sunday Recommendations: Retellings

Leave a Reply

