A Room of One’s Own: Short Review

IMG_20160529_175539

Genre: Classics, Non Fiction

Rating: ★★★★☆

A Room of One’s Own is probably Virginia Woolf’s masterpiece. It’s an essay in which she explains why a woman should have a room of her own if she is to write. Men usually have a study, but women don’t and when they write it’s in common room, where people keep coming and going. This explains why there are more men writers than women (and the fact that our patriarchal society leaves little place for women). She also illustrates her essay with amazing figures such as Jane Austen who managed to write a lot in less than favourable conditions. It’s a really beautiful work and I strongly advise you to read it! (both that of Jane Austen and that of Virginia Woolf by the way!)

Why did I enjoy this book so much?

It is really clever and feels relatable. Even if the society has evolved (thank god!) some things still ring to me. House duties and stuff like that are things we see women doing, I see it very well with my parents: while my mom is doing tons of things for the house (cleaning, cooking, taking care of my brother…) my dad is usually in his study, telling us to make less noise. And I will never find this normal. So yeah, I see the point of having a room of one’s own. The worst thing is, this study was supposed to be my mom’s… I don’t understand why women always have to sacrifice themselves for men… But that’s not entirely the point of this article.

What I mean is, Virginia Woolf has a point. Even though we do have wonderful writers who didn’t have a room of their own (Jane Austen or the Brontë sisters among them) things would probably have been a lot different if things had been different. And Virginia Woolf is not just pointing this out, she is justifying it (yes I know, that’s the point of an essay, but she does it very cleverly, in a way that just makes sense.)

Overall, this book was really enjoyable. It is clever and interesting, and it’s pleasant to read. I found it a bit hard to follow at the beginning, but the more I read, the harder it was to put the book down… So in the end, I absolutely recommend this book to anyone and everyone!

Leave a Reply

