Four: My Review

IMG_20160612_144744

I really liked Divergent but I was a bit disappointed by both its sequels, so I didn’t really have high expectations when I started reading Four. However, I was taken by surprised as I absolutely LOVED it. I read it in a day yesterday, and now here I am, hoping for more.

Publication year: 2014

Genre: YA, Dystopia, Short Stories

Rating: ★★★★★

The story:

Four is a prequel to the Divergent series, told from Four’s point of view instead of Tris’s. The first short stories evolves around his Choosing Ceremony, the second one  is about his life as an Initiate, the third one about bits and pieces of his life after the Initiation, and how he notices the Dauntless are slowly changing and drifting away from their original ideals. The last one takes place when Tris has arrived in Dauntless. The book also includes three scenes from Divergent retold from Four’s point of view.

Warning:

Four is supposed to be a prequel to the series, however it is supposed to be read after them, as it includes spoilers for the rest of the books!

My opinion:

Surprisingly, I really loved this book. As much as Allegiant disappointed me, I really loved to read about Tobias before he met Tris, and what led him to make the choices he did, etc. His narrative voice was really pleasant and enjoyable to read – actually I liked him better here than in Allegiant.

It was interesting to read more and learn more about the concept of Divergent, because it really is such an interesting world. This book completes the story very well and is a must read for fans of Tobias/Four!

I think Veronica Roth did an excellent job here. Four is really endearing and feels relatable. We get to understand a bit more the complex backrgound of everything that happens in Divergent and the rest of the series. It’s also great to read more about characters whom we meet in the rest of the books, such as Tori, Zeke and Uriah as well as the rest of their friends, and of course, the unbelievably annoying Eric.

Overall, it was a great read, and the fact that it was short stories was no problem at all, as they more or less followed one another. Highly recommended for fans of the series who still want to read more about it! And I know some may say that this doesn’t add anything to the story, but is that really important? In the introduction, Roth says that when she first got the idea for Divergent, it was a story from Tobias’s point of view, so I think it makes this book even more interesting. Anyway, I really enjoyed it, so I’m happy…

Please share your opinion below if you have read it, I would love to talk about it!

One thought on “Four: My Review

Leave a Reply

