Inherited: My Review

IMG_20160615_130435

I received an ARC copy from the publisher in exchange for a honest review. This doesn’t influence my opinion in any way.

Genre: YA, Adventure, Fantasy, Romance
Rating: ★★★★★
Release Day: July 12th
Prequel: Into the Forest
Author: Freedom Matthews (here’s her twitter)

Warning: This book made me cry!!

The story:

On board of the Wilted Rose, the ship is cursed and its crew forbidden to love. Because really, if saying I love you meant the death of your beloved, would you say it?

The crew live as pirates, and is composed of the heirs of the curse, trying to get rid of it. Lennie was raised in a brothel, where she was abandoned by her mother at birth, and is the only woman on board. She compensates by being the best fighter, and yet, she is broken and afraid to love.

However, things might change when they find the sixth heir, handsome and blue-eyed Nathaniel joins the crew, and keeps showing up wherever Lennie is.

With only two heirs left two find, the crew is getting more hope, and believe they will soon be able to convince the Sorceress to lift the curse. However, that would be forgetting the sea witch Hadnaloy, who is the mortal enemy of the Wilted Rose…

My opinion:

I absolutely loved this book!

First of all, one of the things I really liked is the fact that the story was really unpredictable. It is always more enjoyable to read such books, in my opinion, and that one was full of unexpected plot twists which kept putting me on edge… And it was awesome.

I also really liked the fact that the characters are all very unique and very different. And at the same time, they have their weaknesses, and all feel human: it’s just perfect. I like each member of the crew. They complete one another, and bond to create a second family, it’s really great.

The main character, Lennie, already went through a lot, and that made her who she is. And yet, with the curse, and the sea witch, and her life as a pirate, she knows she will still have to go through more, and just accepts it. She appears strong and independant, but she is also really caring, and protective of her crew mates. Nathaniel first appears as the perfect guy: handsome, rich, knows how to fight, etc. but there is more to him. He is also really sweet and caring, and will quickly find his place on board.

As for the other characters, they all have a special place in my heart. Butch has a special place in my heart because he’s so cute, but I can’t really choose a favourite, they’re all different, and awesome in their own way.

Another thing that made this book even better is the writing style. I just enjoyed it so much, it was really pleasant to read.

What else can I add? This is a bit different from what I usually read, but the story had gotten me curious, and it was totally worth it. Really, it has everything: a curse, pirates, faerys, impossible romance, battles… A great story and a great writer, what could I ask for more?

The only thing I regretted is that it got a bit repetitive in the end, but that’s all. (And it also broke my heart, but again, it was totally worth it!)

Recommended for:

If you like fantasy and/or pirates stories, the go for it! And if you like other publications by Oftomes, you will most likely enjoy this one as well!

6 thoughts on “Inherited: My Review

Leave a Reply

