Scarlet: My Review

IMG_20160610_105033

Genre: YA, dystopia, retelling, fantasy
My rating: ★★★★★
Author: Marissa Meyer
Publication year: 2013

Warning: As much as I tried not to involve spoilers for Scarlet in my review, I couldn’t avoid including spoilers for the first instalment, Cinder. So if you haven’t read that one yet, read at your own risk!

The story:

In this second instalment of the Lunar Chronicles, Cinder is on the run, and must at all cost avoid getting caught by the Lunar Queen Levana. She is trying to find Michelle Benoit, a woman who could know more about her and how she ended up here.

On the other side of the world, Michelle is missing, and her granddaughter Scarlet is doing everything she can to find her, even if that requires the help of street fighter Wolf, whom she doesn’t trust at all. But the dangerous young man seems to know more than he lets him, and Scarlet is willing to risk everything if it can help her find her grandmother, and find out about the secret she has been hiding her entire life…

My opinion:

First I wanted to say that it took me a little while to get into the story, so I thought I would be disappointed, but then all the action and the things I loved it Cinder came back, and I couldn’t help but love it. I heard so many great things about the Lunar Chronicles, and I thought the series might be over-praised, but really, it’s totally worth it! And yes, some things might be a bit predictable, but really, it doesn’t matter because all the unpredictable things compensate!

It was a pleasure to find again all the characters I grew attached to in the first book, well especially Cinder, Kai and Iko. And I also quickly fell in love with the new additions: Thorne, the runaway convict who is gorgeous and charming, even if that doesn’t affect Cinder at all, and of course, Scarlet and Wolf.

I liked the fact that this book was longer than the first one, and I have to say, I really loved the dynamic betwee Scarlet and Wolf, and how their relationship evolved through the book. They are so precious and so perfect for one another!

We learnt more about Levana’s secrets and about Luna, which was interesting. And by the end, even though Kai ends up in one hell of a mess, we know he still cares about Cinder, and interesting stuff is going to happen in the next volume… And I can’t wait!

One more thing I wanted to mention is how much I enjoy the writing style. Like, really. Marissa Meyer is basically describing an omelette cooking and I’m like, I wish I could write this. I wish I could write like this. So yeah, congratulations, you got me.

Overall, this book was amazing, and if you are reluctant to give this series a shot because of all the hype, what you need to know is that it is absolutely worth all this hype! The characters are amazing, and diverse, which is amazing, and the plot is never resting… You won’t be bored, and you won’t regret it!

Recommended for:

Dystopia and retellings lovers!

10 thoughts on “Scarlet: My Review

  1. Okay so I still have to read Cinder😰 but after seeing so many great reviews I’ll have to read it soon, but first on my YA series tbr list is the Raven cycle 😁 have you read them?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

