Sunday Recommendations: Plays

Today I’m making a special edition of my Sunday Recommendations, and I’m going to share a few plays I really enjoyed that you might want to check out if you are curious!

I know that reading a play is not usually an obvious pick, but on the birght side, they’re a quick read, and usually enjoyable and easy to understand… Here are some I really enjoyed!

*****

A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare

A Midsummer Night's Dream

I couldn’t go for plays without mentioning a Shakespeare! I have read and studied several of his plays, and I know he wrote many tragedies, but this one has to be my favourite! If you have never read it, you should definitely check it out!

Antigone by Jean Anouilh

Antigone

A modern retelling of the myth of Antigone, the daughter of Œdipus.

Andromaque by Jean Racine

Racine's Andromaque

17th century retelling of an ancient tragic myth of love and death, this one is a classic in French literature.

Tiger at the Gates by Jean Giraudoux

Tiger at the Gates

This one is another modern retelling of the Trojan War, and what may have happened inside the walls to try and avoid the conflict… It is really a wonderdul work by a wonderful author.

Dirty Hands by Jean Paul Sartre

Dirty Hands

Fictional political drama written during times of war, it questions things such as responsibilities and such, and it’s a fascinating text.

A Doll’s House by Henrik Ibsen

A Doll's House

On of my recent reads, this one is about women and independance, how they should be treated, and the fact that they should be able to get independance in order to be whole human beings… At least that’s how I read it, and it was a really interesting book!

The Cid by Pierre Corneille

The Cid

One last French classic to conclude my list! This one is probably one of the most studied books here in France, but I remember it vividly and I really liked it. It takes place in Spain during medieval times and is the tale of star-crossed lovers, a tale of revenge, duty, honour and impossible love… Which may seem ridiculous since it includes many long lost traditions, but it’s more than this, and it’s a really great story. Really.

*****

And that all for this week! I’m really lazy and tired so I won’t write any more, but I hope you enjoyed! Have a nice Sunday! (And now I’m thinking of more books I could have recommended… That will have to wait for another article I guess.)

Leave a Reply

