Middle Grade Book Club update: Percy Jackson

IMG_20160711_144218

If you have been on my blog for a while, you may remember that in January I had decided to be part of a readalong, reading one of the Harry Potter books each month until July, and then one of the Percy Jackson books each month until December. You may also have noticed that it didn’t quite happen as planned.

So far, for the Harry Potter books, I have reread The Philosopher’s Stone and The Chamber of Secrets (I talk about the first one here and the second one here). I plan on reareading The Prisonner of Azkaban in July, and I actually still have to buy the others if I want to reread them, because I only own the French copies, and want to read them in English. But I have no money. I’ll still try to reread them this year, even if that didn’t quite work as planned, and then, I will be able to read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child!

But that is not what I wanted to talk about today. I have reread Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief last summer, so I decided to skip this one for the challenge, since it was still pretty fresh in my mind. And as you may have noticed in my June Wrap up, I have reread The Sea of Monsters and The Titan’s Curse and this is what I wanted to talk about today!

I read this series for the first time when I was in middle school, I don’t exactly remember when, but I do remember that I loved them. I borrowed them from the library and they always had a special place in my heart. I love Greek mythology (I actually studied Ancient Greek for 8 years…) so of course, this mythology retelling is a jewel to me. And it felt so good to dive back into this world, now I can’t wait to get my hands on the last two books! I actually plan on reading all of Riordan’s books, since I only hear good things about them, but that will take me a long time I guess since I need to purchase them all (and I’m poor but I have already mentioned that I think).

In The Sea of Monsters, Percy discovers he has a cyclops half-brother, and his best friend Grover is chased by an almost blind other cyclops who wants to marry him. The only way to save Camp Half Blood, which is under attack by monsters, is to find the Golden Fleece, and he decides to go after it with Annabeth and his half brother Tyson.

In The Titan’s Curse, Annabeth has disappeared because of a monster, and two new half-bloods have been found. Percy and Grover also meet the Hunt, who are Artemis’ companions, and go on a quest with their leader Zoë, to fight their enemies and find Annabeth.

Through these books, we come across new gods and monsters, and go on new fantastic adventures. I just love these books so much. Percy is a hilarious narrator, and a really great character, with weaknesses and a big heart. Grover is his equally hilarious companion, and Annabeth is the smart girl in the squad. The good thing about this series too is that (unlike in the HP series) there are also other characters fighting along with them. It’s not a trio-exclusive thing. In the second book, they travel along with Tyson and occasionally Clarisse. In the third one, they are with Zoë, Thalia and Bianca. Every single character is unique, and each one is strong in a different way.

Each book reveals more about the war, and the quest. Little by little, we learn more about what the Oracle said about Percy (or at least, a person who is more likely to be Percy). Book after book, we learn more about the gods, and this magical universe reinvented by Rick Riordan, and I just love it.

If you haven’t read the Percy Jackson series, I highly recommend it! Yes, they are labelled as middle grade books, but so what? I’m 20 and I still enjoy them! It’s fun to think the hero is only 12 at first, and that is not at all a problem to me when I read the books… So yeah, if you haven’t read those books, definitely check them out, and I hope I will be back to talk about the two others very soon!

2 thoughts on “Middle Grade Book Club update: Percy Jackson

Leave a Reply

