Middle Grade Book Club: Harry Potter Update #3

IMG_20160629_121843

At the beginning of the year, I had planned with a bunch of bookstagrammers to reread the entire Harry Potter series from January to July. This now seems to fit even more perfectly since The Cursed Child will be released at the end of the month. However, as time went by, July came and I had only reread The Philosopher’s Stone and The Chamber of Secrets.

Of course, I decided that it didn’t matter, but I still want to reread all the Harry Potter books before moving on to the new release. The only problem being that I only own those pictured above…

But I can still say that I made some progress this month! Earlier this month I rewatched both parts of the Deathly Hallows with my little brother who had never seen them. And I have to say, since I never mentioned them here on the blog, these movies are brillant. And it made me want to reread the books even more.

And over the weekend, I finally reread The Prisoner of Azkaban.

WARNING: SPOILERS

If you had asked me last year, I would have said that the third book in the series was my favourite. However now I’m not so sure. I know that I totally loved the first two books. And people usually say that the series gets darker with The Goblet of Fire. But since it was the third (or fourth?) time I read it, I noticed more things in The Prisoner of Azkaban that foreshadow the darkness that will come into the rest of the series.

First, we have the apparition of the Dementors. They are probably the most horrible thing in the entire Harry Potter universe. Like, really. They represent depression after all, and it is something I can relate to. I feel like this time, I understood better all the depth of these creatures, and it is really rather disturbing.

Then we have the whole oh-my-god-siruis-black-is-a-dangerous-crimminal plot that goes throughout this volume. Now I know by heart everything that happens, but really, bad stuff happens into this volume. A supposed escaped convict enters Hogwarts and the Gryffindor dormitories. A magical creature is unfairly sentenced to death (which raises my hatred towards the Malfoy family). The Prisoner of Azkaban definitely has its dark corners which are not to be underestimated.

Anyway, as ever, I really enjoyed this book. I have to say, I really love the ending, with what of the time turner, and the Marauders, and the Patronus, and Harry learning more about his parents, and finding family with Sirius. What I will keep in mind after this reread is the depth you can still find in the Harry Potter series with the rereads. And I changed my mind, it is not getting dark with The Goblet of Fire, but with The Prisoner of Azkaban, and that for two reasons: the Dementors, and the fact that Harry has now officially lost his innocence. Because for God’s sake, he wanted to kill Sirius when he thought he was the reason his parents had dies. (And I shed a tear when they had to say goodbye…) So yeah, big up for the great character development I don’t think I had noticed before! And I can’t wait to get my hands on the next one which is one of my favourite! (Okay, they are all one of my favourites, you got me…) (And since I’m going to be a camp councellor in August I will earn some money and buy a few books without feeling bad about it…)

That’s it for today, I hope you enjoyed, please feel free to share your opinion on the Harry Potter series in the comments!

Oh and if you want to check it out there is a Bookstagram House Cup thing going on on Instagram, you can check it out and participate, it’s a lot of fun! (Use hashtages #BookstagramHouseCup + the first letter of your Hogwarts House, like for example, I use #BookstagramHouseCupH because I’m a Hufflepuff!)

And PS I posted a new video on my Booktube Channel!

3 thoughts on “Middle Grade Book Club: Harry Potter Update #3

  1. I wish I could reread the Harry Potter series again, but I have so many other books in my TBR pile that I would feel guilty about neglecting them. :/ Have fun rereading them all, I am looking forward to The Cursed Child to come out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

