Thoughts on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

IMG_20160805_134346

I know this book has gotten a lot of mixed review, but I personally loved it. And maybe it has flaws, but I don’t care. All I wanted was a new story to be transported back into this magical world, and oh boy, I got it!

Rating: ★★★★★

Now before you read any further I just wanted to warn you that this article is probably going to contain a lot of spoilers, so if you want to avoid those bad boys, go read Harry Potter and the Cursed Child and come back so we can discuss it!

First thing I loved is how crazy and original the story is. I found it totally unexpected and I liked it even better.

Second thing I loved is how we got to see lots of characters we loved, and that it had tons of little references to the other books. To mention only a few, the flashbacks to book 1, the time-turner from book 3 (look, I even got one now!), the Triwizard tournament from book 4, Umbridge and Snape, and of course the Battle of Hogwarts.

I know people say that the story is just crazy, but if I have to be honest, the only thing that disturbed me is that they could produce Polyjuice out of nowhere. Because we know very well from book 2 that it is supposed to take months to make it. The rest, I loved it.

The whole thing with the time-turners felt like Doctor Who all the way, and I loved it. I know it is supposed to be complicated and confusing, hard to pull of and that’s why we didn’t see that much of them after Sirius escaped the Dementors and Hogwarts. But honestly, I found the concept of this play really great. Okay, it was not perfect. But oh boy, it had so many awesome plot twists.

That was me through the entire book.

fangirl_mode_tumblr3

Also me through the entire book…

But anyway, back to business. What’s good about this book? And yes, I know I’m biaised but really. I wanted to enjoy this book, and when I started it I wasn’t actually sure I would, because of the mixed reviews, and because it didn’t click right at first. But then it did. It started getting better and better. And it was so exciting.

It is original, it has many great references, and a really interesting plot. Maybe it’s just me, but I really wanted to know what would happen next. And all the parallel universes were just awesome. I love that the authors manage to pull out all of those scenarios. I mean, they are kinds of alternate endings, and we see that they really worked on the characters we know, and it’s just great.

And of course, the friendships in this book. How could I talk about it without mentioning them? It was clearly impossible. Of course, it is great to be reunited with the Golden Trio again, but they are not the main centre of the plot. It’s good to see that Draco has changed, though is plotline is rather sad (LIKE HONESTLY HOW COULD YOU DO THAT TO HIM SO UNFAIR). But hey, he said he enjoyed being bossed around like Hermione and I was like

giphy (1)

Because I absolutely love Ronmione (especially in all those parallel universes!) but Dramione gets me right in the feels every time!

I was also really moved when both Draco and Ginny felt they had felt left out and lonely in their years at Hogwarts. And I couldn’t help but think. What if Harry had taken Draco’s hand in The Philosopher’s Stone? What if he had gone to Slytherin? Malfoy was really a brat, but he also could have changed if he had actually been friends with Harry… But we’ll leave this to fanfictions.

Because there is one more obvious friendship I wanted to discuss. And obviously that’s Scorpius and Albus. I just love their relationship. They need each other and they are ready to accept it. They just rock their world together. And Scorpius is such a nerd, how can you not love him? I have read many posts on tumblr saying those two should be together and Scorpius having a crush on Rose doesn’t make sense. I personally think it does make sense, and maybe he will turn out to be gay or bi or not. Their story is not over. Harry had a crush on Cho before dating Ginny after all. Hermione (kind of?) dated Krum, and Ron had his relationship with Lavender. First love doesn’t mean it will last for life, so for the love of God, stop complaining about this and just enjoy the story.

One more thing on this whole time-travel thing. I really love how changing one little thing can completely change the whole turn of events. And some people seem to think it doesn’t make sense to see Cedric Diggory becoming a Deatheater (and I have to admit that it breaks my heart) but we didn’t see everyting about this alternate future, so who knows, he may have had other reasons!

So yeah, overall, I really enjoyed this book and would totally recommend it to Harry Potter fans. The only thing that honestly bugged me was the Polyjuice. On an afterthought, the whold Cedric becoming a Deatheater is quite weird too, but it totally made sense while I was reading the story, so why not. And the format was pretty cool. The fact that it was a script didn’t bother me at all, and oh boy, I wish I could have gotten tickets for that play!

That’s about it for today, I hope you enjoyed this article even if it goes a bit all over the place. If you have read the book, I would love to discuss it in the comments!

(I had so many feels about this book and I could probably go on for hours, but I think I have already mentioned the different topics I wanted to talk about, so we will stop there! Have a nice weekend!)

3 thoughts on “Thoughts on Harry Potter and the Cursed Child

Leave a Reply

