If you like… Then you will like… [TV Show Edition]

Hi guys and welcome to my Sunday Recommendations! This week’s edition is a bit special. I am using a formart I only used once previously AND I am going to talk about TV shows! I decided to recommend TV shows and Korean dramas based on other shows and books you may have liked! I hope you will enjoy, and I hope this will allow you to discover new things!

*****

If you like Game of Thrones, then you will like Pillars of The Earth and The 100!

Afficher l'image d'origine     Afficher l'image d'origine     Afficher l'image d'origine

Game of Thrones
Pillars of the Earth and World without End
The 100

Now that I think about it, all these TV shows are also books, but I wanted to talk about their TV shows not the book aspect, so yeah. Game of Thrones is a TV show that pretty much everyone has seen or at least know what it is about. And I wanted to recommend two shows you may like if you enjoy Game of Thrones!

Rather than a fantasy, Pillars of the Earth is more of a historical fiction. But its atmosphere reminds me of Game of Thrones a lot, with all the intrigues and the quests for power, etc. It has two seasons of 8 episodes (the second one is called World without End) and has a really awesome cast!

The 100, on the other hand, is a dystopia, but it still has elements that remind me of Game of Thrones (similar amount of useless deaths put aside). Again, both shows have this quest for power, and numerous battles. In addition, it shows different people trying to get accustomed to life together, and different beliefs like we have in GoT with the old gods and the new, and the lord of light. The 100 is getting more and more popular these days, and is also my personal favourite, and I definitely recommend it!

If you like Friends and sitcoms in general, then you will like the Korean High Kick series!

Afficher l'image d'origine     High Kick! The Revenge of the Short Legged

Friends
High Kick, The Revenge of the Short Legged (하이킥! 짧은 다리의 역습)

Both series are centered around a group of neighbours, and if you are looking for a new sitcom after watching all the “classic” American ones, if you are looking for something new and different, you might want to check High Kick out! It has three seasons of about 120 episodes each, which can be watched separately since they all have a different cast. I personally have watched the third season as pictured above, and it was actually my first sitcom! I loved it and I laughed a lot, I would definitely recommend it to sitcoms lovers.

If you like Outlander, then you will like Queen In Hyun’s Man!

Afficher l'image d'origine     Queen In Hyun's Man

Outlander
Queen In Hyun’s Man (인현왕후의 남자)

Those are a bit more dramatic, but if you like Outlander, you may like Queen In Hyun’s Man! Aside from the fact that it is set in a different culture, both stories are centered around love and accidental time-travel.

If you like Harry Potter, then you will like Merlin and Doctor Who!

The Philosopher’s Stone and The Cursed Child by J.K. Rowling
Merlin BBC
Doctor Who

Afficher l'image d'origine     Afficher l'image d'origine

Afficher l'image d'origine     Afficher l'image d'origine

If you are a fan of the Harry Potter series, and dream of a new magical world you can enter, with wizards and warlocks, then you should definitely watch Merlin. It is a show based on the story of Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table, with Merlin as Arthur’s servant, and the latter doesn’t know the true powers of his friend. It has five seasons, and you can binge watch it since the show is (sadly) over. The characters are really endearing, and it’s overall an amazing series which I would recommend to pretty much anyone!

If you have also enjoyed the last installment in the series, the script of the Cursed Child, and turn out to be a fan of time-travel who hasn’t watched Doctor Who yet, then I advise you to quickly check out this show! At many times while reading the Cursed Child I found that its aspect reminded me of Doctor Who, and I absolutely loved it.

If you liked the AErkaos series, you will like W-Two Worlds!

Les Frères de la Ville Morte (Aerkaos, #1)     W – Two Worlds

Aerkaos series by Jean-Michel Payet
W-Two Worlds (W-두 개의 세계)

This is my last recommendation for this week, and I realise you have most likely not heard of this book series, since apparently it hasn’t been translated. However, I found the concept so similar to this new kdrama I started watching (it’s currently airing) that I had to mention them! As a wannabe-writer, and devoted reader, I find this concept absolutely fantastic: every time a writer starts a story, they create a new world, where the characters are allowed somewhere. In both stories, characters from one world encounter characters from another, who were created by someone’s pen. I just find this concept absolutely awesome, and would overall definitely recommend both those stories!

*****

And that’s it for this week, I hope you enjoyed, and discovered new things! Please feel free to comment with any recommendation of your own, or any request for a theme you would like to see featured in my Sunday Recommendations! Have a great day!

6 thoughts on “If you like… Then you will like… [TV Show Edition]

  1. Hi. I just wanted you to know that my hubby and I recently finished watching Pillars of the Earth per your recommendation on this post. I must confess that I like Game of Thrones better, but this was a good series and I’m glad you recommended it. Now I just need to sit down and read the book… It’s been on my bookshelf for a while now :).
    I always enjoy your Sunday Recommendations… I hope you keep them coming 🙂 !

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi! I’m so glad you enjoyed the mini series! The book is really great too. Have a great week! (And as long as I have new ideas I will continue with my recommendations posts! Thanks for your feedback, it means a lot!)

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

