Sunday Recommendations: Books Around the World (part 1)

Hello readers, and welcome to my Sunday recommendations! This week I have decided to feature books from different countries, which will hopefully allow you to discover new and different stories! Hope you enjoy!

*****

The Pillars of the Earth  (The Pillars of the Earth, #1)ENGLAND: Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follett

Genre: Historical Fiction

The story: Evolving around the city of Kingsbridge and its whereabouts, Pillars of the Earth tells a story of love and a fight for power, of just people and those craving for power. It is centered on a cathedral, and a castle, on monks and kings and builders. Suited for fans of historical fiction and stories such as Game of Thrones.

My rating: ★★★★★

RUSSIA: Anna Karenina by Leo TolstoyAnna Karenina

Genre: Classics, Historical Fiction, Romance

The story: An other historical fiction, and more importantly a classic. Anna Karenina is set during the 19th century, and navigates between Russia and other Europeans country. It tells the story of the forbidden love between Anna, a married woman, and Vronsky. It shows the wealth of the rich Russian nobilities, and also the Russian countryside. My favourite characters are Levin and Kitty.

My rating: ★★★★★

Benny & ShrimpSWEDEN: Benny and Shrimp by Katarina Mazetti

Genre: Romance, Contemporary, Adult Fiction

The story: A unique love story of two people who meet at the graveyard. Everything sets them apart, except for the fact that her late husband is burried next to his parents. She works at a library, he is a countryside guy, and yet their lives become surprisingly entangled.

My rating: ★★★☆☆

SWITZERLAND: Heidi by Johanna SpyriHeidi

Genre: Classic, Children’s Literature

The story: Set in the Alps in the late 19th century, Heidi is the story of a young girl who lives with her grandfather. I read it so many times as a child, it is beautiful and totally worth discovering or rediscovering!

My rating: ★★★★★

El jardín devastadoMEXICO: The devastated Garden by Jorge Volpi

Genre: Magical Realism, Adult Fiction

The story: I know I have already talked about it several times here, The Devastated Garden tells two stories, that of the narrator, and that of a woman living in the desert, and her encounter with a djinn, followed by an obscure pact to save the people she loves. It is an incredible and original book.

My rating: ★★★★☆

ITALY: The Baron in the trees by Italo CalvinoThe Baron in the Trees

Genre: Classics, Children’s Literature

The story: The Baron in the trees is a book I read many years ago, but will never forget. Now that I’m talking about him, Italo Calvino is a genuis writer and you should definitely check out at least one of his books! Anyway, this book tells the story of a young boy who refuses to eat snails for lunch (as far as I remember) and escapes in the trees of his garden. After that, he vows never to get down, and grows up and spends his life there. It was such a fun and original book, I definitely recommend it!

My rating: ★★★★★

The ReaderGERMANY: The Reader by Bernard Schlink

Genre: Historical Fiction

The story: An incredible book and one of my favourites. The Reader tells the story of a young boy, who one days on his way back from school falls sick and meets a woman called Hannah. Ensues an affair, and he will read her stories. But one day she disappears. They meet again years later, he is studying law, and she is accused of war crimes.

My rating: ★★★★★

*****

And that’s it for this week, I hope you enjoyed! I will most likely have another one of those coming soon, as I really enjoyed making it. Feel free to comments with request and opinions, and have a great Sunday!

Leave a Reply

