Sunday Recommendations: Books Around the World (part 2)

Hi everyone! Last week in my Sunday Recommendations I shared books from seven different countries, and I am continuing here with seven other books from seven other countries! As you may have noticed, I am trying to read more and more diverse books. I also want to make you discover different books, so here we go with this second part of my books around the year! I am definitely going to make a third part as well, but I’m not sure when yet.

*****

Stolen: A Letter to My CaptorAUSTRALIA: Stolen, by Lucy Christopher

Genre: YA, Contemporary

The story: At the airport, Gemma is kidnapped and taken to a house in the middle of nowhere, by a young man – Ty – who has planned his life with her for years. Written as a letter from Gemma to Ty, Stolen is a very moving book, as well as an original story with a unique setting.

My rating: ★★★★☆

USA: Looking for Alaska by John GreenLooking for Alaska

Genre: YA, Contemporary

The story: The main character, Miles, transfers school and arrives in a dorm. His life is transformed as he meets a new group of friends, and becomes fascinating with gorgeous, self-destructive Alaska Young. Between last words and a search for the “Great Perhaps”, Looking for Alaska is an amazing YA novel, which breaks my heart every time I think of it.

My rating: ★★★★★

The Old Man Who Read Love StoriesCHILI: The Old Man who read Love Stories by Luis Sepulveda

Genre: Fiction

The story: Set in the Equatorian jungle, The Old Man who read Love Stories is the story of a man who used to live with the natives, and has to cope with the Americans who settled there, and their way of living. It’s a very poetic and original book, as well as an ode to nature.

My rating: ★★★★☆

Balzac and the Little Chinese SeamstressCHINA: Balzac and the little Chinese Seamstress by Dai Sijie

Genre: Historical fiction

The story: During the cultural revolution, two city boys, sons of intellectual, are exiled in the far countryside to work. There, they meet the daughter of a local tailor, and find steal a suitcase full of books. Balzac and the little Chinese Seamstress is a tale of love and the importance of books. Definitely recommended to all book lovers and people who want to travel through books!

My rating: ★★★★★

FRANCE: My Brother Simple, by Marie Aude MurailMy Brother Simple

Genre: Contemporary

The story: It’s the story of two brothers, Kleber, who is 17 and a senior in high school, and his brother Barnaby, or as people call him, Simple. Simple is 22 years old, but has the mental age of a three-year-old. Kleber has to take care of his brother, since their father won’t take him seriously, and to change their situation, he decides they should move in with other students. My brother Simple is a beautiful and moving story which I will never forget!

My rating: ★★★★★

Be With YouJAPAN: Be With You by Takuji Ichikawa

Genre: Contemporary

The story: Between past and present, the story centers on the main character returning from the grave, and how he deals with his grief. Unique, moving and beautiful, I definitely recommend it if you are looking for something different and emotional!

My rating: ★★★★★

IRELAND: Dracula by Bram StokerDracula

Genre: Classics, Paranormal

The story: Need I really tell you what Dracula is about? It’s a dark tale of the Victorian period, between big city and lost mountains, humans and vampire… A rather disturbing book, and I have to say I was extremely proud of myself when I finished it. But still, it is a classic, and an incredible book. So of course I would recommend it.

My rating: ★★★★☆

*****

And that’s it for this week! I hope you enjoyed, feel free to comment with book recommendations and/or article suggestions! I’m thinking of making a book recommendation post with books set exclusively in Paris, what do you think?

Have a great Sunday guys, and i’ll see you soon!

5 thoughts on “Sunday Recommendations: Books Around the World (part 2)

Leave a Reply

