Thoughts and feelings on Orange by Takano Ichigo

Afficher l'image d'origine

I originally wanted to make this into a video but since I’m on holidays it’s a bit complicated so I decided to make an article instead. Last month, Jessethereader made a video talking about this so I added it to my TBR. And then, a few days later, a friend texted me saying this was definitely something I would like, so I knew I had to read it!

Orange is a five-volume manga written by Takano Ichigo. I rated it 4.5 out of five stars.

The story:

The story evolves around a group of friends in high school. On the first day of 11th grade, the main character Naho wakes up late and receives a letter telling her it was written by her future self. The letter states that she woke up late, and gives her guidances as to what will happen, and what she should do. Future Naho is guilted with regret and wants to help her past self to change things so that she doesn’t have regrets. She gives her advice about herself, and about her friends, and about the new boy who soon becomes part of their friend group. But is it really possible to change the past?

My opinion:

It’s been a while since I last read a manga, and my friend was right, this was definitely the thing for me, I absolutely loved it.

The drawings are really sweet, and pretty. They really fit the story, and are pleasant to watch and this is always something I enjoy when I read mangas.

The story is cute, and very moving. Basically, it’s a group of teenagers trying their best to help/save their friend. It’s a beautiful blend of high school friendship and first loves. The characters are rather endearing and relatable. Naho is rather shy, she is a bit of an introvert, but she really wants her friends to be happy. Obviously, she is confused by the letter at first, but as everything it states happens like predicted, she takes it really seriously. I don’t want to get into spoilers, but I’ll only mention that their group of friends is really supportive and that’s amazing.

The story also includes some bits of the “10 years later” with the Naho who wrote the letter, and I really enjoyed those parts as well.

Even though the way the letter got to the present/past is still a bit confusing, I decided to not care about this and just enjoy the story in general. I’m not especially bothered by the impossibility of time-travel and such (actually I really love this type of stories) so it was a really nice twist on the classic shoujo.

Overall, it’s a really great story. It was hard to put down, as I always wanted to know on the one hand, what the letter would say next, and on the other hand, what would actually happen next, once the past had started to change. Orange is a beautiful reflexion on high school and friendship and relationships in general. It is a romance but also what can be categorized as “slice of life” and I really like this type of stories. I loved it so much I’m probably going to reread it!

Recommended for:

Manga and shoujo lovers, obviously. If you have never read any of those, then it could be a good one to start, since it is a rather short series!

If you have read it, I would love to hear your thoughts on it, and if you haven’t the scan is online here!

One thought on “Thoughts and feelings on Orange by Takano Ichigo

Leave a Reply

