Diversity Spotlight Thursday #2

Hi readers! The Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a new weekly meme created by Aimal on her blog Bookshelves and Paperbacks and I decided to take part because I love diverse books! This is my second time doing this meme, and I really enjoy it.

The rules are simple: in your diversity spotlight post, you share three books

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

And without further ado, here are my picks for this week!


A book I have read and enjoyed

Scardust by Suzanne Van RooyenScardust

Genre: New Adult, Science Fiction
My rating: ★★★☆☆

Why is it diverse? It features a LGBT relationship as well as characters from different origins.

This book is set in 2037, in Texas. The main character, Raleigh, promised his brother he would scatter his ashes on Mars, and is trying to enter a program that would allow him to be one of the first people living on the planet. But one night he meets this weird boy, and they seem to share an unusual bond, which might threaten his entering the Mars programm… (Full review)


A book on my TBR

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the UniverseAristotle and Dante discover the Secrets of the Universe
by Benjamin Alire Sàenz

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary

Why is it diverse? It features a LGBT relationship

Everyone has read this book (or almost) and seems to be recommending it, and yet here I am. So of course I had to include it in this feature. I really need to get my hands on it. From what I gathered, it seems to be the story of two completely different boys who meet one day, and once they get to know each other, their lives slowly start changing. It looks like a really beautiful story, and it has been on my TBR for ages!


A book releasing soon

Labyrinth Lost by Zoraida CòrdovaLabyrinth Lost (Brooklyn Brujas, #1)

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Why is it diverse? It features a LGBT relationship and foreign characters ♥

This books is actually getting released very soon (on September 6th) and I only heard good things about it. It has magic in it, so I’m definitely interested. From what I gather on the Goodreads page, it’s a Latinx F/F fantasy, and it’s awesome. And look at that cover, it’s gorgeous. It seems a bit different from what I usually read, so of course I’m curious. I’ll keep you updated when I get my hands on it!


And that’s it for today! I hope you enjoyed, and please feel free to leave some diverse books recommendations in the comments! Have a great day!

One thought on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #2

Leave a Reply

