Diversity Spotlight Thursday #3

Hi readers! The Diversity Spotlight Thursday is a weekly meme hosted by Aimal on her blog Bookshelves and Paperbacks and I decided to take part because I love diverse books! You can check out her blog for more info. The rules are simple: in your diversity spotlight post, you share three books:

  1. A diverse book you have read and enjoyed
  2. A diverse book that has already been released but you have not read
  3. A diverse book that has not yet been released

Here are my picks for this week!


A book I have read and enjoyed

The Color Purple by Alice WalkerThe Color Purple

Genre: Classics, Historical Fiction
My rating: ★★★★☆ (review)

The Color Purple is set in the US in the 1930s. Celie, the main character, comes from a poor family, where she was abused by her step-father, who then married her off to a violent man. She tries to find comfort in letters she sends to God, not knowing that on the other side of the world, her sister Nettie has become a missionary, and is sending her letters – which all get taken away by Celie’s husband. Little by little, Celie, who has never known love, becomes attracted and entangled with her husband’s ex-mistress.

Why is it a diverse book? It features POC and LGBT character, moreover, it is a feminist book. Really, what else could you want? Really. I think everyone should read this book.


A book on my TBR

Two boys kissing by David LevithanTwo Boys Kissing

Genre: YA, Contemporary

I have read Will Grayson Will Grayson a while ago, and ever since, I have been meaning to check out more of David Levithan’s books. I keep hearing good things about this one, and it also seems to have a rather original concept. (Goodreads)

Why is it diverse? Well, I guess the title is clear enough…


A book releasing soon

Of Fire and Stars by Audrey CoulthurstOf Fire and Stars

Genre: YA, Fantasy
Release date: November 22nd

If found out about this book on another Diversity Spotlight Thursday  post as I am not very good at knowing about future releases, but I saw the cover and I knew I had to check out this book. According to what I get from the Goodreads summary, it’s a story of magic and romance, exactly the kind of thing that is up my alley.

Why is it a diverse book? Well, once again according to Goodreads, it is  LGBT (F/F) romance.

You can check it out on Goodreads if you want to know more about it!


And that’s it for this week! Feel free to join this meme and/or recommend diverse books in the comments!

7 thoughts on “Diversity Spotlight Thursday #3

Leave a Reply

