PS: I like you – My Review

IMG_20160831_120331

I received PS: I like you by Kasie West in the August Owlcrate, and I’m so thankful I did because otherwise I don’t know if I would have read this book, and I would definitely have been missing out… I read it in one night and I asbolutely loved it!

Publication: August 2016
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Romance
My rating: ★★★★★

The story:

Lily is bored in Chemistry class, and one day she writes some of her favourite song lyrics on the table. The next day, someone replied. She is surprised, and replies back. Follows a very long exchange of letters ducked under the table with her mysterious penpal. At first, she doesn’t want to know who he is. But slowly, she realises she might be falling for this guy, who opened his heart to her through those letters, and things get complicated…

My opinion:

First thing I knew when I had the book in my hands is that I would fall in love with this guy, and oh boy, yes I did. I know this is not the best summary, but trust me, this book was amazing. I didn’t start it with high expectations, because it seemed a bit of a cliché YA romance, and maybe it was, but I believe there was more to it. This is also a story about frienship and family, and I really enjoyed it.

Lily is a rather unique character, she stands out, she likes music, and she is also an introvert, and I could really relate to this. This book not only explores her relationship with her mysterious paypal, but also her relationship with her family – who is not an easy one to live with on a daily basis – and her best friend. Lily’s life is made of ups and downs, it’s relatable, and she is a really fun narrator.

As for her mysterious penpal, I am not going to tell you who he is, because it would be a major spoiler (I am dying to talk about him though… Please tell me what you think if you read this book…). But the person we get to know through those letters is a funny and admirable person, with qualities and flaws, of course. And I really enjoyed how he and Lily built their relationships through those letters. In a way, it is exactly the kind of thing Lily needed and it’s wonderful (and also extremely romantic, just thinking about this book makes my heart melt).

img_20160908_111348

And I haven’t even mentioned that my copy is signed, and also has a letter from the author, what am I even doing? I absolutely loved the letter, honestly, I think it made the book even better.

Through this book, Lily got to open to new people, and I think it’s really great. We can really see a character evolution thoughout the story, and it’s something I really like in books (or TV shows, or anything really). She gets to talk to new people, she opens to this mysterious guy through their letters, and her relationship with her best friend also evolves, with trust and quirks. I really loved it (yes I know I keep saying this).

Overall, this was my first Kasie West book, and I feel like I have definitely been missing out. This book was cute, light and funny. It was also moving and relatable. Once again, I realised how much I loved contemporaries. I definitely need to check out her other books.

This book has definitely made it to my top 10 books of 2016 list. I also talk about it in one of my recent videos here!

What else can I say? I loved this book so much, and if you are looking for a quick read, which will make you swoon, then you should definitely check this out. If you like romance and cute contemporaries, then this is definitely the thing for you.

Thanks for reading, and if you have read PS: I like you I would love if you shared your thoughts in the comments!

5 thoughts on “PS: I like you – My Review

  1. *sqeals* I loved this book! And the guy, OMG the guy, I knew I’d like him from the beginning and even through how Lily saw him. The whole time before she found out, I was like, “THAT’S HIM SEE IT’S HIM LOVE HIM!”
    Yeah I’m just fangirling lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

