The Old Man Who Read Love Stories: Short Review

The Old Man Who Read Love Stories

I read this book in August and I really enjoyed it, so I thought it was time I finally made a review for it.

Author: Luis Sepulveda
Original title: Un viejo que leía novelas de amor
Publication year: 1989
Genre: Latin American Literature
My rating: ★★★★☆

The story:

The Old Man who read Love Stories is a rather short book, about a man called Antonio José Bolivar, living in a small town called El Idillio. He originally came here with his wife, but after she passed away, he lived for years in the jungle with the natives, and acquired a great deal of knowledge about them, their way of living, and the Ecuadorian jungle itself. So when people start turning dead, and obviously killed by a wild animal, the people ask for his help. But Bolivar is old now, and all he cares about is the book that is waiting for him in his small house.

My opinon:

I wanted to talk about this book because I found it was extremely beautiful and poetic. It is an ode to nature, and to respect what we are given. Bolivar is an amazing character, who is solitary and understands nature better than any of us. However this book also shows how misunderstood he is, and how the world we live in today has changed so much.

I don’t have much to say except that it’s a quick read, original, and an incredible story.

The Old Man who read Love Stories is not only a book about a man who loves nature, but also a book about an old, broken man who finds solace only in book, and it was really great to read about him and how he came to fall in love with, when it is not something you might expect from such a character.

Overall, I find it difficult to review this book because it is unique and different from what I usually read. However, one thing I’m sure of is that I really recommend it, especially if you’re looking for something a little bit different, from something poetic, and/or for a book which is in itself an ode to nature.

screenshot_20160922-233147_1

One thought on “The Old Man Who Read Love Stories: Short Review

Leave a Reply

