On why the Percy Jackson series are so great

wp-image-1464024113jpg.jpg

This is mostly based on my thoughts on The Battle of the Labyrinth since it’s the last book of the series I read recently, but really this entire series is totally worth reading and I would strongly recommend it especially if you have never read anything by Rick Riordan! In this one, which is the fourth volume in the series, the intrigue is going more grave, even more than in the third one, as dark forces are rising, more powerful than ever before.

Basically, if you don’t know about Percy Jackson, it’s a modern series, mostly destined for a middle grade audience (but really enjoyable forΒ pretty much anyone in my opinion) where the Greek Gods still exist today, and still have children with mortals, the halfbloods. Percy Jackson discovers one day that he is the son of Poseidon, and he spends every summer at Half Blood Camp, but the world is in danger as the Titans and their lord Kronos are trying to rise again and destroy the gods…

So here are a few reasons why you should definitely check out this series!

* While dealing with dark matters, Rick Riordan keeps a quick pace, and a writing style that is both light and witty, in a way I find absolutely unique.

* Greek mythology is an inspiration I’ll never get tired of. These books are full of little references (as well as the obvious ones) and it makes reading them all the more satisfying.

* It manages to be simple, funny and hilarious in a way that makes you think, man I would never have thought of that but it’s bloody brilliant (for example bringing back the dead with coca cola and happy meals).

* It has these very simple sentences that are actually hilarious, for example when Percy says “Annabeth, Grover and I each took one of his hands” because it’s a being with a hundred hands, and it’s just really simple but also really funny at the same time at least in my opinion.

* They really show Rick Riordan’s incredible imagination. I know the creatures depainted do exist in Greek mythology (the work of great research too, and I admire it) but he is the one who describes them in a most vivid way, and I find it both incredible and fascinating.

And that’s all I could think about for now but I would love to hear your thoughts if you have also read and loved this series! I find them both clever and hilarious, and such unique books. I don’t know why I waited so long to pick them up again, but now that I have, I’m so glad I did, and I can only recommend them to spread the love! I am definitely planning on reading all of Rick Riordan’s books, they are quick and definitely refreshing reads!

5 thoughts on “On why the Percy Jackson series are so great

  1. Percy Jackson and the Olympians is one of my favourite series. Rick Riordan is an absolute genius. His work amazes me every time that I read it. What I love the most about all of his series (apart from his incredible humour, because that’s obvious haha), is how he writes his characters. I love all of them. Percy is a wonderful narrator of the world he is exploring, Grover is utterly hilarious and likeable, and Annabeth is such a great, strong and intelligent female character.
    Have you read The Heroes of Olympus series? Because if you love Percy Jackson and the Olympians, you will FALL IN LOVE with The Heroes of Olympus one. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

