The Fever Code: My Review

img_20161023_1456551

Honestly, this book is all I have been waiting for ever since I read The Maze Runner. Thank you James Dashner for making it happen!

The Maze Runner #0.6
Publication: September 27
Genre: YA, Dystopia
My rating: ★★★★★

The story:

In this much anticipated prequel to Dashner’s phonemenal series The Maze Runner, we follow Thomas, Teresa and the other Gladers before they got into the Maze. We learn more about WICKED and finally understand why Thomas was working with WICKED. We also learn more about the outside world.

My opinion:

Seriously, this is all I had been waiting for. Ever since I started this series. And this is actually the first book in this series that gets a 5 stars rating from me. I am honestly so happy. Every book in this series was a quick, mostly enjoyable read for me, but I also felt they were a bit overhyped and sometimes frustrating. But this. Was just. Amazing.

Basically, this is a must read if you enjoyed The Maze Runner.

WARNING: SPOILERS

I don’t know where to start. I read this book in like, five hours, and it left me there with so many conflicted feelings. And of course, I am glad to know, finally, when happened before the Glade. I also appreciated James Dashner’s writing a lot more than in the other books of the series, and will definitely be checking out his other series. Because in the end, his books are actually really addictive.

My favourite thing was probably the fact that we discovered that Thomas, Newt, Minho, Alby and Chuck were friends before before the Swipe. And even without their memories, they found one another again in the Glade. And that, my friend, is the most beautiful thing in the world. Squad goals, honestly.

I also love that we got to see more of Thomas’ and relationship with Teresa, because the most important part of their friendship, the complexity of their relationship, that was all before the Maze. And that was beautiful too. It was so great. (And that made Teresa’s death even more sad in the end of The Death Cure. Come on Dashner, you really broke my heart here, why did you have to do this?!)

I absolutely love the fact that we got to see a lot of characters we met in the Glade. This book explained so much. We got so much backstory, and little things. It’s what I live for, honestly. We even got to see characters from The Scorch Trials and The Death Cure. It all made so much sense. It is such a clever, carefully made work. I am so satisfied, really.

We got to see more of how WICKED works, in addition to how they trained their “subjects” and that was also rather enlightening. I keep saying it, but this book was really satisfying. It was like finally getting together all the pieces of a complex puzzle, and it’s just brilliant.

We saw that even before going to the Maze, Thomas had his doubts, he wasn’t sure whether what WICKED was doing was actually right, and he did not always feel good about the Maze. It was great to see that even if he lost all his memories, he still remained the same, because I was a bit afraid we would get to see a complete other face of him. I was glad to see he had always been the same inside, and his sense of friendship was really great too. After all, all the bad things are WICKED’s doing, he was only a child trying to do his best. All along. (And I couldn’t help but feel relieved!)

And finally, I had to share this, because James Dashner is a genius:

Me when I discovered that Teresa was actually Deedee from The Kill Order

16725617

fangirl_mode_tumblr3

tumblr_o2sk2xgpJP1tgz4rco1_250

itallmakessensenow

giphy_346

I honestly put the book down for a good 5 minutes. I totally did not expect that but finally, IT ALL MADE SENSE.

It made me both appreciate The Kill Order more, and understand Teresa’s character better. This was honestly brilliant.

You can also check out my review for The Maze Runner‘s other prequel, The Kill Order!

7 thoughts on “The Fever Code: My Review

Leave a Reply

