The Animators: My Review

The Animators

I was contacted by Penguin Random House via NetGalley because I had reviewed Eligible by Curtis Sittenfeld, and they sent me an e-ARC of this book for review. And I’m so glad they did, because I would probably never picked it up otherwise, and yet this book was brilliant, it will probably haunt me forever…

The Animators is Kayla Rae Whitaker’s debut novel, and it deserves all the praise. I hope this review will make you want to pick it up as well!

Praise by Emma Donoghue, author of Room:

“An engrossing, exuberant ride through all the territories of love—familial, romantic, sexual, love of friends, and, perhaps above all, white-hot passion for the art you were born to make . . . I wish I’d written The Animators.”

Release date: January 31st, 2017
Genre: Adult Fiction, Contemporary
My rating: ★★★★★

The story:

Sharon and Mel became friends in college. Both came from very different places, and everything seemed to keep them from one another: except their love for cartoons, and the fact that they had both gotten a scholarship at Ballister.

Ten years later, they are still working together, and their biggest project, a retrospective on Mel’s childhood, is out in theaters. But Mel seems to be getting all the credit, and Sharon doesn’t want to deal with it anymore. She starts getting jealous, and questioning all of her choices. While on tour, the girls seem to be drifting away, only keeping up what’s left of their relationship when they’re on camera.

But between stress and failed relationships, Sharon’s life is about to change.

My opinion:

At first, I was afraid to start this book because I was afraid it would be about jealousy and competition, and I am not really interested in that. It was a bit hard for me to get into the story, however, the more I read, the more I loved it, and the more I wanted this book to last forever. The Animators is a story about art, about creation, and so much more. It is an incredible story about friendship and family. It is a book about life, and one of the best books I have read this year.

The story is told from Sharon’s point of view, and not only is she an incredible narrator, but she is also an extremely relatable character. I just loved reading her story through her point of view, understand things little by little with her, and watch her becoming stronger.

Another thing that made me love this book so much is the amount of incredible plot twists. Incredible, unexpected plot twists. And it made this book absolutely brilliant, there is no other way to put it.

This book made me feel so many things. I smiled, cringed, laughed, and most of all, cried. It feels so real, and so beautiful, I don’t know what to say.

Usually, when I review books, I have so many things to say, to comment on. But here, I am speechless. The only thing I’m sure of is that this book changed my life. Which is why everyone should read it.

Recommended for:

Readers who enjoy adult contemporaries, people who love art, and those in search of more diverse books!

6 thoughts on “The Animators: My Review

Leave a Reply

